Music as a Family Tradition

Around here music is more than a meal; it’s a family tradition.  We get invited to McMurry Family Farms music session a couple times a year.  They range from pig pickin’s to  macaroni and cheese fest, and they are always excellent.  Steve is always willing to help our family, but reciporaction means a lot too.  Steve is multitalented.  He plays mandolin, guitar and banjo, and has insider knowledge on how to tie everything from a wild hog to wild boys.  I remember one time I had to call him for advice, and he said he had boys under contract to transport as far as Chattanooga, and he would recommend meeting me there.  Given he had deep adventure experience, and I had virtually none, I followed his advice and everything worked out.  I do have significant trust of Steve and his associates.  If I had needed to get my wife and daughter to Chattanooga, I would have followed him there.  By the same token, I had interest and in depth knowledge of aortic stenosis, and that was beneficial to their family too.  Although we grew up in two different worlds, we shared one music that was so deep that we were brothers and grew a mutually beneficial friendship out of the relationship.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Music as a Family Tradition”

  1. Jewell Burke Says:

    The Bluegrass Music Family are perhaps the most faithful on earth!!!!


Leave a comment