ADK- Harmony in the Hills (Four Part Harmony)

        I want to thank all the ADK folks for hosting a session about the book journey of “The Mandolin Case.” It was my first teacher convention and they made me feel right at home. The theme was “Harmony in the Hills,” so I fit right in. While I was there I found out they support great causes like St. Jude and the Food Bank, so I was all about being a part of their gig.

       Don’t tell my agent but I never did write down my outline. He knows I am always writing in my head and stays behind me to download it to paper. (I’m thankful for him, I’m a touch ADD and might not get it done otherwise.)

      So in keeping with the theme, I’ve decided to call the hour session “Four Part Harmony.” The four parts were as follows:

        1. Why I write

        2. How I became a writer

        3. How to get published (at least how I did) and

        4. How to use the Internet to promote your work.

        I opened with a song (not surprised there, huh?) then gave a synopsis of the plan. Then I introduced each section with a brief overview. At the end of each part I reviewed, played another song, took questions, then launched into the next segment. I kept an eye on my watch and kept each segment to about fifteen minutes.

          My wife was very pleased. “Honey, that’s the same technique teachers use in the classroom. How did you know to do that?”

        “I dunno. I figured they were teachers and when you’re in Rome you do as the Romans do.” (I never was a teacher except with my med students, but I’ve attended many a lecture in my time.) “I gotta admit they made it easy, though. They all paid attention and asked intelligent questions. No one threw paper airplanes at me or anything. They have to work a tougher crowd than I do, and I guess they wanted to make it as easy on me as possible.”

        So thanks again guys for a fun gig. My Mama was a teacher, and I fell in love with one years ago, so I always have liked teachers. Your banquet speaker said teachers have the opportunity to influence people more than any other profession and I agree. My life would have never been the same except for my teachers so here’s to you this Monday morning. Tell your students Doc said they better pay attention. You never know when the things you learn might come in handy.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, The Monday Morning Post, The tour, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “ADK- Harmony in the Hills (Four Part Harmony)”

  1. jel Says:

    glad ya had a good time,

    my older sister is a teacher,

    have a good day! 🙂

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel,

      It was much fun. Hey Darin and I have started work on the CD. He and Brooke have one they need to do first, but we’ll go into the studio when they finish. I hope to lay down the tracks by late summer and have it out by early fall. I want to have it finished before the grandbaby gets here.

      Dr. B

  2. kcleighton Says:

    Dr. B.–Sounds great! Where would an aspiring writer/devoted follower of your blog be able to get the details of the “Four Part Harmony”?

  3. bashell Says:

    Hello Dr. B,

    Just happened to be one of those teachers who heard your presentation for ADK Saturday. Enjoyed it immensely. Have no ambitions to write myself, but surely do love to read and learn about authors. I have started your book and love it. I just wish everyone at that convention could have heard you. Thanks so much for coming with your Marfar and being with us this weekend.

    • drtombibey Says:

      bashell,

      Bless your heart, there is no better way to thrill a writer than say you like their book.

      Next time I’m gonna get Marfar to get out her bass and we’ll jam and pass the hat to raise money for St. Jude. Bob dubbed the tentative event as “Jamming for Jude’s.” We’ll have fun and raise money for a good cause at the same time; all good.

      We had a great time. Thanks for having us.

      Dr. B


  4. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today. I’m not sure if you found me via the WordPress ‘Freshly Pressed’ feature, but I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too. I’ve enjoyed browsing through your blog. I’m a retired elementary school teacher so I can certain relate to that banquet speaker’s comment. I’d add parents to it… parents and teachers have a huge influence on children!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Carol,

      That is where I ran across you sure enough. As you may have read, my mom was a teacher so I’ve got a bit of a radar for those kind of blogs. Thanks for visiting, and I hope you’ll come back.

      Dr. B


Leave a comment