My Rules

        I went to a good man’s funeral. It always makes me consider what I find important. Here are my rules. They might not work for everyone but they work for me.

1. Trust Jesus.

2. Honor, cherish, and be loyal to family and friends. Know how to fight for them without having to give up your religion.

3. Study your profession every day and commit to excellence.

4. Never go to a funeral and then think what you might have done. I do all my crying ahead of time. I might cry anyway but never once has it been out of guilt for not having thought my way through the situation, often in an obsessive way.

5. Play music in time and in tune. Sing loud when you’re on pitch and soft when you’re off a hair. If you can’t sing, you can still be in the band. Just learn six baritone notes and know where to put ’em in. Be in the band because you want to help the others sound the best they can.

6. Write what you believe was true before your time, what is true while you are here, and what will be true after your time is gone. Then edit again. If you’re not sure to say when you speak write it down first. Edit that too.

7. Play golf on sunny days with the wind at your back and always keep the ball going towards the hole. Never play golf alone with any woman other than your wife or your daughter.

8. Don’t forget; art ain’t a matter of life and death. It’s a whole lot more important than that. 

        I’ll be back to “Acquisition Syndrome” soon.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “My Rules”

  1. Harlina Says:

    Good rules, doctor! Hope you have been keeping well 🙂

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Harlina,

    Thanks so much. Like I say; they might not work for everybody, but they work for me.

    Someone asked, “If you could change anything in the world what would it be?”

    I thought about that a minute, and said, “About the only thing in the world I was ever able to change was me, and that was a struggle.”

    All the best. I hope you’ll visit again.

    Dr. B

  3. Kathy Says:

    I’m going to print this out and post it on the refrigerator, where I’ll be sure to see it at least three times a day. I don’t engage in #7, so I’ll double up on 5 and 6. If I were going to add a rule, it would be about animals, but they’re included in #2 anyway. You’ve really got it all covered here. Thank you.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Kathy,

      Probably the best advice on #7 is to “take two weeks off and quit” because it’s a waste of time except I enjoy the stroll in the sun. One writer said golf was “a good walk spoiled.”

      You’re right, kindness to animals is part of family.

      For my writing to end up on another writer’s refrigerator is the ultimate compliment; better than a spot on the New York Times Best Seller list.

      Dr. B

  4. Cindy Lou Says:

    Good rules Dr.B…I can follow most of them. And, I could probably add a few of my own. One would be true to myself and my beliefs. One is know who your friends are and be thankful for them everyday. Don’t worry about trying to be rich and you will be.

    Hope all is well with you and yours.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      All is well here. Yep, these are good rules too. A take off on your last one: “collect friends, not money.”

      I try to follow all mine. Of course I fail sometimes. But about #4 I can be obsessive to the point of unreasonable. After it’s all over there’s no going back except to ask Jesus for forgiveness and apologize to the poor soul when you get to Heaven.

      Dr. B

      • Cindy Lou Says:

        That is what I was getting at with the rich comment. Money is not everything. Friends and loved ones and experiences make us rich.

  5. drtombibey Says:

    That’s it exactly! -Dr. B


Leave a Reply

