IBMA Nominations 2010, Wayne Benson -Mandolin

        I just got my ballot for the IBMA nominations for 2010. I am only one country doctor, and not a pro, so my opinion is only worth so much. On the other hand, it’s my blog so it counts for something, huh? Over the next couple posts I want to share with you the reasons I support certain artists. After that I’ll get back to my physician bluegrass fiction gig.

        The first one I want to tell you about is Wayne Benson. Y’all already know him well. Wayne is a multiple SPBGMA winner but somehow has been overlooked for the IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year award. 

        I first posted about this around the time of the first ballot on May 26, 2010. (see my archives) I always found Russell Moore and III Tyme Out to be one of the most influential groups of the second generation of bluegrass. Except for a brief stint when he toured with John Cowan, Wayne has been the mandolin voice for III Tyme Out almost the entire journey. He has influenced countless numbers of young pickers. To me he reset the bar for bluegrass mandolin excellence in the 90s.

        Wayne is a tireless and patient teacher whose depth of understanding of the mandolin fretboard and practical theory is endless. He participates in seminars and workshops, and gives his time to all sorts of mandolin community experiences to share his love of the instrument. (Often with little compensation for his generosity) He and his wife Kristin now have a home studio and they help many emerging bands with their upcoming projects. Wayne is front and center as a performer but does more behind the scenes than most folks will ever know.

       I hope you will join me and consider your support for this great artist for IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year, 2010. It is an oversight I feel overdue for correction. I’d be glad to answer any questions about Wayne you might have. Trust me, you won’t find a better mandolin man to represent us anywhere. The cat is too modest to brag on himself, so I’m gonna do it for him.

       Thanks so much for your consideration.

Dr. B

Hey, the guy has taught me a bunch of mandolin and he’s more photogenic than old Doc too! Y’all nominate him while he’s still young and can enjoy it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Mandolin Players I Know

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “IBMA Nominations 2010, Wayne Benson -Mandolin”


  1. Dr. B, I will never grow tired of reading your kind words about people – even when I’ve never heard of most of them. But you make anyone you write about come alive.

    Speaking of which – I finished The Mandolin Case with tears and my eyes. I couldn’t help but remember you writing about Indie’s passing right here, and how I cried then, too… You’re a wonderful writer Doc, and you really do make people come alive for this reader at least. Thank you for writing your book – it was honest, heartwarming and even if I didn’t know a thing about you or Harvey County I’d have enjoyed it. It’s been an honor for me to know you, sir, and I know I’ll keep on hanging ’round if you don’t mind my being here.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      Heck kid you are my number one pal in Israel and always will be.

      When I went to Wayne it was to take my mandolin play up a notch. He did that and more but the best thing to come out of it was a new friend. His wife Kristin Scott Benson plays banjo for the Grascals (they started out as Dolly Parton’s back-up band) and she becamse good friends with me and Marfar too.

      I am so thrilled you liked “The Mandolin Case.” I put my heart and soul in it. Like me, it is simple, but complex.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

