Sing Like a Doctor -Supercalifragalisticexpialadocious

        First the disclaimer.  Don’t sing like a doctor if you want to make your way as a singer.  I sing the baritone part, but it’s closer to the monotone at times.  After years of (singing) practice I can help out in a jam, but I better hold onto my stethoscope.

        But if your read today’ post and practice it a few times, maybe you can sing like a doctor.  It’ll leave an impression on your guests at your next cocktail party.

        All ya gotta do is think like Dr. B and put all your medical lingo to music.  Take this one:  Idiopathic hypertrophic subaortic stenosis.  Sounds boring huh?  It won’t be if you sing it.  Here are the words.  Put it to the tune of the “Sound of Music” classic,” Mary Poppins’ “Supercalifragalisticexpialadocious.”  As she would say, “It is practically perfect in every way.”

Idiopathic hypertrophic subaortic stenosis
Even if your singing voice borders on atrocious
Idiopathic hypertrophic subaortic stenosis
All your friends will marvel at your brilliant diagnosis 

         Oh by the way, next time you go to your doctor if they say your illness is idiopathic, tell ’em you know what that means.  Say, “Idio stands for ‘I don’t know,’ and pathic is ‘what the h#!! it is.”

        I promise you he/she will raise their eyebrows and wonder just who you’ve been hanging out with. 

        In case y’all haven’t noticed, I’m about to get cabin fever.  I’m ready for festival and golf season to get started.  I am 98.7% certain I will have my book ready by IBMA in the fall and there is a very good chance it will be sooner; will let you know.

        Sing it pretty.  

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Sing Like a Doctor -Supercalifragalisticexpialadocious”

  1. Carmen Claypool Says:

    I was thinking about your book this morning and wondering what was the status. Good for you. Good for us bluegrassers! As for the medical lingo…I’ve been so blessed with good health for the most part…I get to hear the jargon mostly from Dr. House. 😉

    But hey, I can speak “bureaucrat-ese” and throw more government acronymns at you than you would believe.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Carmen,

      Yep we pretty well learned a lot of ’em from the government. They are the pros!

      I talked to my agent last night and asked if he thought my odds were that good by fall and he agreed. So, stay in touch. Old Doc is gonna see it to it’s illogical conclusion.

      Dr. B

  2. Felix Miller Says:

    Maybe if I tried your version of Super…….. my voice would improve. My late mother, the choir singer, used to shake her head after church and say, “Son, at least you can say you made a joyful noise to the Lord.”

    Good news about your book, Babs and I are looking forward to the book, and the tour.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      Brother if you sing like me might better buy yourself a stethoscope.

      Having fun and gonna get it out there in 2010 which was always my goal.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

