The Great Equalizer

        Wayne is teaching me some classical music.  Lord, when he plays it is some of the most beautiful mandolin work you’ll ever hear.

        I struggle to learn and improve.  This material is outside of my standard genre and requires some work on my part.  I am always struck by how hard good sound is to come by.  My mandolin can only respond to what my brain tells my fingers to do, and whatever effort I put forth.  There are no short cuts.  One must put in the time.  I do so because I love what the music does for my soul in return for my efforts.

        The mandolin is the great equalizer.  I’ve got a few years of education under my belt, but the mandolin has no knowledge of that. It makes no difference to my mandolin if I am black or white or old or young or anything else.  It only wants to know how much I care.

        I guess it is like being a doctor.  If you’ve got all the book learning in the world, but don’t touch the patient and don’t care, it doesn’t mean a thing and would be a waste of time.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “The Great Equalizer”

  1. drtombibey Says:

    Sharon,

    I have learned a lot from my mandolin journey.

    Dr. B


  2. I think all art is like that, really. You can’t look at a painting or listen to a piece of music and know what the person who made it is like – you can have theories and you can guess, but you can’t know since stereotypes are so often far from the truth when it comes to the people behind the art.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      Art can be such a beautiful mystery huh? I often wonder how ‘The Mandolin Case’ will be interpreted when it hits the street.

      I’m gonna go ahead and promise; it’s gonna happen in 2010. We’re not quite ready to make an announcement but we’re getting close.

      Dr. B

  3. MR Says:

    Dr. B,
    Thanks for letting me join the club yesterday! I like your style and look forward to seeing you in April on the pasture!

    🙂

  4. Martin Waddell Says:

    Don’t forget that Handel mandolin concerto I told you about some time ago! Lots of good Vivaldi ones as well.

  5. Barbara de Souza Says:

    God who made Heaven and Earth made us too. Each of us is born into a family, race, within a neighbourhood in a country on one of the continents.

    “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; 20 you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body,” (1 Cor. 6:19-20).

    Since my inner healing, healing and deliverance I received anointing for dance as well as my voice. I always thanked God for my gifts and talents but when I was born again through the power of the Holy Spirit I handed over my gifts and talents back to God so that he could anoint me so that I could better serve Him and give Him the glory.

    I am not a trained singer or dancer but the Holy Spirit has made me a super star. In return I point others to God when they compliment me on my singing or dancing.

    Father, Son and Holy Spirit I thank you.

    Barbara


Leave a Reply

