Farther Along

        My ‘Song of The Day’ on FaceBook was ‘Farther Along.’  There is no doubt.  When Doc Watson sings this one, he means it.  After Merle died it was all Doc could do to get through it.  There is so much here on Earth we can’t understand.

        Along the way I saw a lot of wrong.  I know I’m no literary giant, but my writing is my humble effort to show how to deal with all that stress and still be a decent person.  Here’s my definition of stress: ‘The realization some fool ought to have the living daylights choked out of them, but the wisdom to know you can’t do it.’

        When I saw some people become powerful via exploitation I wanted to choke them, but by the Grace of God always found a way to outwit them instead.  Besides, I knew the government was short on prison docs and would love to find any excuse to draft me.  I didn’t want to spend the time away from my wife and kids, so I always evaluated the situation and developed a strategy.  I saw it through to the other side of the river every time and lived to write about it.  My writing is gonna make some powerful people very unhappy.

        I’ve had more good luck than a man deserves and can’t complain about my lot in life, but when I see good people mistreated, it gets to me.  I get all over-protective and a mean streak surfaces that I don’t like one bit.  Maybe farther along I’ll understand why, but here on Earth there are times I just have to pray for patience and to stay tranquil.   

        I believe God gave me the opportunity to write for that very reason.  He didn’t want me to wind up in prison either, so He let me write instead.  Because my stories are fiction, even though they are all true, there ain’t nothing they can do about it.  And I gotta admit, the mean streak in me takes some solace in that.  I guess it’s just the human coming out in me but I’ll work on it.

        I better go pray for forgiveness.   Old Doc is still working on a building, but farther along I’ll know all about it.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Farther Along”

  1. danny fulks Says:

    Tom, the age of reason didn’t pass you by.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Bless your heart Dan, and may you have a wonderful Sunday.

    Dr. B

  3. Martin Waddell Says:

    We see the same thing in our small rural community where we live in Scotland – one or two wealthy, powerful people who lord it over other folk and, when other folk stand in their way, get their own back in all sorts of underhand ways. People who are “in” with the local planning authority and suchlike. People who cause a lot of suffering to others who just don’t deserve it. Very frustrating to feel that you can’t do anything about it, but I think that there’s a lot of very wise counsel in Psalm 37 – “I have seen the wicked oppressing and towering like a cedar of Lebanon; again I passed by and they were no more.” Hasten the day!

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Martin,

    It is a long hard battle against those kinds of people. Sometimes all we get is small victories, but I cherish those and keep trying. They are difficult to deal with.

    Dr. B


  5. Doc,

    You are Just trying to make this world a better place one word at a time. I thought I didn’t have a mean streak until I became a mom. I became the woman I feared the most. I didn’t recognize myself and I knew I needed help.

    I learned some powerful lessons through my angry moments – I learned that I’m human, I learned that I care and I are deeply. I learned how to control that rage. That fire is what keeps me alive yet it’s mostly under control. I give so many thanks for writing.

    God bless.

    Julie

    • drtombibey Says:

      Julie,

      Bless your heart, I understand. When your people are threatened it brings out emotions I didn’t know I had.

      The power is in learning how to harness it into something productive. It took me a long time to learn how, and writing sure did help. You are young and way ahead of where I was at your age.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

