International Language of Music Discography

        Some time back a man put together a video based on the song ‘One Love.’  The concept was simple.  Via the International Language of Music, he believed he could play this song in any culture in the world and would be able to communicate with people everywhere regardless of race, religion, creed, or politics.  It worked.  Like all the best ideas, it was a ‘why didn’t I think of that’ moment.   

          When his video came out someone e-mailed me the You Tube version.  There were folks not only here in the States, but in Europe, Africa,  Russia, China and ’bout near everywhere else.  They all had smiles, especially the children.  I got out my mandolin and played along.  They played it in all different keys and rhythms, but it was all music.  It was no problem at all.  The mandolin is a versatile little instrument, and an even better friend maker than a stethoscope, though I’ve done okay with it too. 

        This set me to thinking.  In bluegrass there are standard jam tunes almost everyone knows no matter where you go.  ‘Nine Pound Hammer’ is a great example.  My ‘Song of the Day’ today on FaceBook was ‘Handsome Molly.’  If a tune is so old no one knows who wrote it and played by the famous to the obscure (in the is case the Stanley Brothers, Bob Dylan, Mick Jagger, and Dr. Tommy Bibey) it seems it qualifies as part of the International Language of Music discography.

        As I plan my journey I have certain songs I have to do.  Indie’s favorite fiddle tune was ‘The Cherokee Shuffle.’  It is a must for me.  I promised him I would do my part to not let that one die out.

        What are y’all’s favorites you think everyone should know?  I drive to Wayne Benson’s for a monthly lesson.  If you come up with some standard I’ve failed to learn we might just work up a version.  If you hear the great Wayne Benson play it on the stage one day, or see me in my little tour, you will know you might have had a hand in it.  After all, we all speak the same language; it’s just a matter of getting on the same page together.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: The tour, Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “International Language of Music Discography”

  1. drtombibey Says:

    Here’s what has come in on FaceBook so far:

    Wesley Gene Antwine
    1. You Ain’t Going No Where
    2. Love of the Mountain -really too many to list here

    Carol J Dean
    3. Your Love is Like a Flower
    4. Sunny Side of the Mountain
    5. Foggy Mountain Breakdown ….I love those old tunes! they never go outta style Doc B!

    Barb Gau Kozaczuk
    6. Orange Blossom Special

    Tiffany King
    7. Fox on the Run
    8. Georgia Rose

    Otis Campbell
    9. Blackberry Blossom
    10. Arkansas Traveler
    11. Old Joe Clark
    12. Cripple Creek
    (These are pretty straight forward and all the instruments can take breaks. Even most beginners can hang on and play four bars.)
    13. Little Maggie
    14. Cabin On The Hill
    15. Molly and Tenbrooks
    16. Pig In A Pen
    17. The Old Home Place…*whew*…

    Carol J Dean Awwww…..I forgot
    18. Kickin Mule and
    19. Rawhide!!!!!!!! wooo hoooooo

    These guys are bluegrass experts but y’all free to chime in with non-bluegrass tunes. You might be surprised how many have been adapted to bluegrass music.

    Dr. B

  2. drtombibey Says:

    And more….

    Otis Campbell I meant
    20. Little Cabin Home On The Hill” …”Cabin On The Hill” is a great song,but maybe hard to jam on. “Fox On The Run” is a tough one in a jam. Those harmonies and the chord structure aren’t for Front Porch Pickers usually. (Otis, about the only time I’ll try that one is with Darin Aldridge. -Dr. B)

    Grant Withers
    21. John Hardy. We butchered “fox on the run” once as a request. The next request was not to play it again til we learned it (Grant, I hear ‘ya and have been there on that too! -Dr. B)

    Robert Billings
    22. Blue Ridge Cabin Home….always a good’urn.

    Tiffany King
    23. Weeping Willow is good. I can actually play that one

    All fine tunes for any world tour regardless of size,

    Dr. B

  3. drtombibey Says:

    And from FB again, out of the classic rock world:

    Barb Gau Kozaczuk: I am more of a classic rock person, but the few bluegrass tunes I know, I would stick with Orange Blossom Special. My favorite crank song for classic rock would be Roll With the Changes by REO Speedwagon.

  4. Carmen Says:

    Can’t believe I missed this one! Like you, too many to mention…

    • drtombibey Says:

      Carmen,

      In medicine they say ‘TNTC,’ which is jargon for too numerous to count.

      I’m gonna stay on the look out for that round the world ‘One Love’ video. It was a good one.

      Dr. B


  5. Dr. B – I finally Youtubed the Allison Brown Quartet. I’m blown over. I WANT TO SEE THIS MUSIC LIVE! The soul in it, the fun in it, the sheer TALENT in it! So exciting and wonderful to listen to!

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      Alison Brown is a very talented human being. When you go to her show buy a CD, have her sign it, and tell her some crazy doc from N.C. sent ya.

      I always like for young people to discover this music and see it is no longer just for old people, though we love it too.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

