A Child’s View of It

        A truck went under an overpass.  It was close, but there wasn’t enough clearance.  The top of the trailer hit the bridge and the vehicle got stuck.

        It created a huge traffic jam.  People were mad.  They got out of their vehicles and yelled out, “Something’s gotta be done.”  The police did their best to control the crowd.  Sirens screamed and blue lights flashed.  It was an adult spectacle; a regular drama. Fire fighters and EMS workers and all kinds of smart folks puzzled over how to free up the rig but not destroy the overpass.

        A child walked by and looked over the scene.  “Why don’t you just let the air out of the tires?” the boy asked. 

        I guess he was close enough to the ground that he could see how high those big tires were off the pavement and it was simple to him. The truth was not hard for a child to see.

        I like kids.  I ain’t nothing but a big kid myself.  God blessed me with a good grown-up doctor brain, but in many ways I think like a child.  So did Indie, and you couldn’t help but love him.

        Indie was so childlike.  He was as loyal as my old mutt.  He loved unconditionally.  He didn’t know how to hate anyone, even his enemies.  I know some of them didn’t like him.  I think it was because Indie always could see the truth so easy.  They were so grown-up they made what was simple difficult.

          I’ll bet all those officials didn’t like that kid either, but what were they gonna say?  No one wants a reputation as someone who hates kids, even the silly adults who resent them.  Those officials weren’t that bright, but even they were smart to enough to see that.

        I believe we ought to train our brains the best we can but keep the heart and vision of a child. It sure did work for Indie.  It worked for that boy too. 

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “A Child’s View of It”

  1. Carmen Claypool Says:

    I’m with MO D.O.T….it happens, happened with an oversize load here locally just recently. I was so interested in the scenario, that I almost missed the point…

    🙂


  2. I completely agree, Dr. B! I read this young-adult book about philosophy [“Sophie’s World”] and in it the main character’s mysterious philosophy teacher tells her that children have the purest, most open minds and they’re willing to ask the big questions. As we grow older, many of us put away those big questions and clear thoughts in order to focus on little things – and sometimes we can get stuck because of that.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      I have heard of ‘Sophies Choice’ somewhere along the way and I thank you for reminding me.

      You always have the best choices in words. We can get ‘stuck’ just like that truck if we don’t have an open mind, huh?

      Dr. B

  3. Val Says:

    Dr. B, this is one of the reasons I love your writing and your perspective, it’s wise and respectful. hugs bless you and your family.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Val,

      My writing helped me gel my perspective on what I thought was important in life, but the best thing it did was bring me new friends from all over the world.

      We had three inches of snow last week, but no Moose came out of the woodwork. Y’all be careful up there til the spring thaw.

      Dr. B


  4. Aren’t kids just great? The other day my little one told me only I held the key to make him feel better. It broke my heart and made me glow all the same.

    Love your stories doc. Keep them coming.

    Julie

    • drtombibey Says:

      Julie,

      Most kids love unconditionally until someone teaches them otherwise. My kids were lucky, and I know yours are too, to have folks who felt that way about them. We protected ours the best we could and they have done well.

      Dr. B

  5. junebugger Says:

    Aw! that is the most moving, hilarious, adorable story ever! I wish I could have seen the reaction of all those adults. They must have hit their foreheads, crying out: Why didn’t I think of that?!?!?!!?!?!?

    Thanks for the post!

    P.S. Haven’t been on your blog for the longest time! so much to catch up on. Hope all is going well!

    • drtombibey Says:

      junebugger,

      Great to hear from you. All is well here. I check on your blog every week or so.

      I have found a lot of prideful adults have difficulty being outwitted by simplicity, but when a kid does it some of them about can’t take it.

      Dr. B

  6. Cindy Carter Says:

    Dr. B
    My contention has always been that children are great problem solvers. They don’t realize that something is difficult until an adult tells them so. They are imaginative and industrious and innocent. They possess a wonder that cannot be captured and is as fragile as the morning dew….With their experiences in the world, the wonder they have dries up. Sadly for everyone.

    I love people who strive to continue to hold onto that childlike wonder in their adult lives. Those who come up with unconventional solutions and don’t always “march with the crowd”. I believe you are one of those people.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      The mind of a child allows a bumble bee to fly and a country doc with no background in Literature (except as a reader) to hold to belief he can write a book. I’m getting closer with every month that goes by.

      You also are a child of God. I know you will see your blessings in Eternity, but also believe you will see them here on Earth too.

      Dr. B

  7. Jerry Watson Says:

    This reminds me of a funny story along the same lines, Dr. T. Many years ago (on a different planet, it seems sometimes) my Dad was hauling readymix (cement) in Arizona. He hauled a load for a cement slab out to a big commercial building being built. He had to back the readymix truck inside the building to dump his load. No problem. But after he dumped his load and got rid of more than ten tons of weight the truck rose up too high to drive out of the building. They puzzled over how to get the truck out for some time until Dad finally decided to let the air almost out of all the tires. Worked like a champ. Then they had to find an air compressor stout enough to air all eighteen of those big truck tires up again before he could drive back to the batch plant!


Leave a Reply

