Don’t Yell at Me From T.V.

        This morning I turned on the news and a commercial came on.  Right away the volume jumped up 30%.

        It was some guy in a cowboy outfit who sat on top of a bull (that part was appropriate) who yelled at me about why I needed to drive to his car lot and buy a vehicle right now.

       I clicked it off and turned on some music.  I made  a vow  a long time ago I would never buy anything from a human being who yelled at me from the television, regardless of how innovative the product.   Besides, I’ve only had two vehicles in my adult life.  The first one went a quarter million miles, and at 90,000 miles my second one is just about to get comfortable.

       I’ll buy a music CD in a heartbeat.  Sometimes they are marginal but if I feel the artist gave their honest best effort I buy one anyway.  Maybe it’s because the music folks I like so much never yell at me from television, but mostly it’s just because the music is that good and makes my life better.

         Some cat on top of a bull hollering at me before I’ve had my second cup of coffee just doesn’t wind my clock and never will.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “Don’t Yell at Me From T.V.”

  1. Felix Miller Says:

    You are so right, Doctor B. Jacking up the volume on commercials is one of my more extreme dislikes about television. Thanks to some genius for the mute button on the remote, I’ve gotten pretty quick on zapping the obnoxious parts of broadcast excess.

    And sponsors who insist on doing their own commercials are uniformly NOT helping their business, for me.

  2. Carmen Says:

    Mute buttons, or better, the off button give me such a sense of power. 😉

  3. Val Says:

    Well, that guy on the bull can take a long vaction with the slap chop dude and perhaps they can vacation on shamwow island. LOL you made me laugh so hard with this post…Those last two lines were priceless!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Val,

      It is 22 degrees here and I expect that is balmy compared to your neck of the woods, so I’m glad it gave you a laugh. Hey, do the car salemen ride a moose instead of a bull up there?

      Dr. B

  4. rkbaker Says:

    That’s hilarious. I don’t like it when people yell at me from the TV either. I don’t like music that screams at me either, unless it’s a jazz horn wailing…that I can tolerate…..

    • drtombibey Says:

      rkbaker,

      Yeah, I am one for go for the sights and sounds that soothe me, too. I hear of enough trouble that I’m not about to seek it out.

      Dr. B

  5. Simpkins Says:

    Valdese !!! Heard the same commercial way too many times myself …lol

    • drtombibey Says:

      Simpkins,

      Oh well, at least they have the Old Rock School over there. They send me nice e-mails about upcoming bluegrass shows, and never yell at me, so I go.

      Dr. B

  6. Val Says:

    Yes Dr.B, a bull moose! I must confess, I’m terrible jealous of that weather. We are in the midst of a snow storm as I type this. Pity me please! The shovels are standing against the house like little soldiers prepared for snow battle.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Val,

      Mercy sakes. As my grandmother used to say, “Cover your head if you have to go out.”

      I don’t see how y’all stand that weather.

      Dr. B


  7. You made me laugh, Dr. B! I completely conquer – I hate commercials that are so crude…

  8. newt221 Says:

    Dr. B, There is a place in Atlanta and also in Spartanburg that the minute you walk in the door they yell at you “What’ll You Have!!!”. I always get intimidated. I don’t like being yelled at when I am getting ready to get something to eat. That is unless I am outside and being called to supper.

    So, I am with you all the way on that one.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      I’ve been to the old Beacon too, and I also would rather eat a quiet meal. It’s strange, though. I am a little more likely to listen if someone yells at me in person, I guess ’cause I figure they might be mad at me and I want to figure out why.

      Hm. Maybe it’s ’cause the person on screen is so impersonal I can flip them off (the TV on/off button that is) without giving it second thought.

      I feel like I always should hear out real people.

      Dr. B

  9. pied type Says:

    Gee, Dr. B, looks like we’ve been channeling each other on TV commercials — or something. I just finished ranting (quietly) about the yelling on TV ads. I won’t buy from folks who yell at me, or insult my intelligence, or leave trash stuck on my front door, or call me on the phone. Guess I’m turning into a real persnickety old lady …

    • drtombibey Says:

      pied type,

      My wife always says great minds think alike. I agree with you 100%. (I hope that means we both have great minds!)

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

