Bluegrass Doctor Office

        Just so you’ll know you’ve come to the right place, I thought I’d post a few pictures.

         Notice the door in the third photo.  Most important, it is always open. Some say it bears more resemblance to the front door of your favorite bluegrass nightclub than a doctor’s study.  I was glad to hear that; I’ve always been a little different.  Bill Monroe and Earl Scruggs are prominent, but a number of regional and local performers are well represented.  One patient found it unbecoming of  a doctor but didn’t fire me over it.

        My chosen decor is somewhere in between post-modern Lowes and early Home Depo.  You will notice the careful color scheme co-ordination.  Browns, taupe, and beige combine with a burnished copper-toned soft lamp light to render a home-like atmosphere.  (Okay, I admit I had help from my wife and the nurses here.)  

        While the patient is free to read year old ‘Lady’s Home Journal’ magazines, they can also peruse ‘Bluegrass Unlimited’.  Also, the folks who are of bluegrass inclination have the option to await their office visit in the Martin Guitar director’s chair (symbolic of the fact the patient is the boss) as they listen to a selection of more than 10,000 songs on the office IPOD.  The program is 87.34% bluegrass but one may also choose from classic country, early rock ‘n roll, jazz, swing, big band, classical, or Jerry Clower.  We also have WNCW 88.7 by Internet stream and Sirius radio.

        The middle photo gives you a good indication I am true bluegrass.  I did not take a picture of my diploma, but trust me I’m a real doctor.  I went to Sandhills U. just as big as Dallas.  There have been cases of folks who doctor documents to make a run at identity theft, so it’s against office policy to post diploma and license pics. 

        It might be hard to fake being me though. If you run into me and you aren’t sure, take the stethoscope from around my neck and replace it with a mandolin.  Ask me to play ‘Rawhide’ just like Monroe.  I’ll say something like “I ain’t Monroe, but I’ll render it the best I can.” 

        If you are still uncertain say, “Play the harmony part to Sam Bush’s ‘Brilliancy’ note for note.”          

        If the guy can do it, it’s not me.  I’m not that good.  If he can play it and has a head full of curly black hair, it has to be Mike Marshall.  He’s the only guy I know who can do that, but as far as I know he doesn’t treat hypertension, except I find his music a helpful adjunctive treatment.  

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “Bluegrass Doctor Office”

  1. Carmen Says:

    Just way too cool. 😉

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Bless your heart, Carmen. I can’t take too much credit, though. My wife and the nurses deserve it instead. Without them it woulda been a chaotic man cave.

    Dr. B

  3. Cindy Carter Says:

    Good job Dr. B. You did pick out the wife and the nurses that picked out the decor… And, you know when to let other have their way.

    Still going to make it there one of these days.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      Yep, they know more about it than I do, esp about the colors, but I helped out with the bluegrass part.

      Dr. B

  4. Billy Says:

    It was great to see the photos. However when I clicked them they were some kind of big — had to pan my curser way over to see the whole pic. Send more but you might want to check how to not get them so big when we click them

    • drtombibey Says:

      Billy,

      I’ll have to figure out wht I did wrong. With this digital camera and downloads, I’m like a kid with a new toy.

      Dr. B

  5. Val Says:

    You are a healer of body and soul Dr.B and your office is just like you, bluegrass cool. Your patients are very lucky to have you for a physician and that chair is brilliant!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Val,

      I’m gonna tell my people the Newfoundland crowd says I’m bluegrass cool, ’cause that’s as high a praise as old Doc could ask for.

      Dr. B


  6. Hi Dr B,
    Thanks, you’ve satisfied the nosy-Parker in me. I love glimpsing other people’s workspaces. I even zoomed in on your case to read the labels. Music also makes the world go around.

  7. drtombibey Says:

    Sharon,

    I think the idea may have come from one of your posts. This is my Doc space but it’s the same kind of idea.

    Hey my pals Darin and Brooke Aldridge will release their new CD next week. The second cut is from Australia (Casey Chambers is the name I recall) The title of the song is ‘The Sweetest Waste of Time.’ You’ll never hear a better husband wife duet.

    You’re right, music makes the world go ’round. I think it is so cool these kids from N.C. cut a song from Australia.

    Check out their website. They may have a clip of it on there.

    click or goggle http://www.darinandbrookealdridge.com

    Dr. B


    • Hi Dr B,
      Kasey Chambers is quite popular here, especially with her hubby Shane Nicholson. I like their duets – especially Rattlin’ bones. I like your doc space.

      • drtombibey Says:

        Sharon,

        That’s it!! Kasey Chambers, Shayne Nicholson. That’s the names. Darin and Brooke Aldridge did their song ‘Sweetest Waste of Time.’ It’s such a great song. I hope it does well for all of them, and have a notion it will.

        Yeah, for an enviroment that has the potential to be so sterile, I try to give it a little life. I don’t write much there, or play much music, but I do listen to music in the background. If it is slow (which is not often) sometimes I’ll day-dream a little.

        Dr. B


  8. Oh, Dr. B, I can’t tell you just how much these pictures made me happy. I loved seeing into your work-space like this, because now I can really picture where you spend your days, where you sometimes write, and where some of your most important work – healing people – happens. I’ve never been in a doctor’s office that’s as good as yours, and that’s a fact!

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      I’m right proud of it; more than anything for what it represents. There have been many folks in my life who have nutured me. My wife is at the top of the list, but the nurses have helped me all along the way too.

      I am doc but I think everybody looks after me more than I do after them.

      Dr. B

  9. Janice "Busgal" Brooks Says:

    The secrectary likes seeing the Kill Nashville Pop stickers in picture 2.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Janice,

      I didn’t realize until after I posted the pics that was in there but I am glad it was. Gotta make the Rev happy.

      Dr. B

  10. Felix Miller Says:

    Thanks for the look into your office world, Doc. I especially liked the digital photo frame, showing two images, a dog – yours? – and the other a picture of Kristin Scott Benson, banjo player extraordinaire.

    A year ago, I would not have recognized either her picture or her name. Your blog is endlessly educational, Doctor B.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      The photos were snapped at random as the digital frame scrolled along. (I have about two hundred pics in there)

      As it turned out one snap-shot captured my daughter’s puppy dog, and the other was indeed my banjo pal Kristin Scott Benson who plays with the Grascals. (Both are very important in this world)

      You were very observant.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

