This Too Will Pass

On sick leave for a day.  This is what I posted on FaceBook.  I appreciate all my friends, and will be back soon.

Dr. B 

Song of the Day: ‘This Too Will Pass’ Artist: Rodney Crowell. Right now I’m in the eye of the storm, but old Doc has a kidney stone. It has rendered me not very creative, but still philosophical. If you are sick every so often you don’t lose sight of what your patients are going thru. For everyone who hurts today, “locked in pain, but no one’s to blame, this too will pass.” Keep the faith.
Explore posts in the same categories: favorite known bands, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “This Too Will Pass”

  1. newt221 Says:

    I have had a kidney stone. OUCH!!!! Sorry that you are in pain. Hope it “passes” soon.

  2. Felix Miller Says:

    *cringing* That is really bad to hear, Doc. I have been spared that particular pain, and am sorry to hear you are suffering.

    Speedy recovery, I hope.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      Small towns have no secrets. I was going to wait till tommorrow and see if it passed, but my people heard about it and made me and appointment with my urologist this afternoon. I really think I’ll be okay, but I’m gonna go.

      Dr. B

  3. Parson Bob Says:

    Ouch! Sure hope the stone’s history by now, and that it has passed on. As a grandchild says, “Hurry and get weller”.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Parson,

      Kidney stones are an invention of the devil. Between Jesus, bluegrass, lots of water and a dose of Percocet, I think I am about to turn the corner.

      Dr. B

  4. Julius Says:

    Dr. B, hope you get feeling better–this isn’t the way to go for my last week. Although, I did get a lot done this morning–even got another rotation setup!

    I’m sure Marfar will take great care of you! See you Thursday!

    –Julius

    • drtombibey Says:

      Julius,

      At this hour the intense colicky pain has let up some, and I just kinda feel like some old boy from up in the country hit me with a ball bat in the side.

      Gonna see the urologist to be sure. No hematuria, but as you know you don’t have to have that. I rate my diagnosis as 99.8% accurate, but I’m gonna check in with him to be sure.

      And just to let you know, I went by our rules and excluded anything that might kill me at 1:30 AM. I had no risk factors, plus wasn’t presyncopal, had good distal pulses in my feet, and didn’t have a pulsatile mass, so I figured an aortic aneursym was very low probability.

      Dr. B

      • Julius Says:

        Sounds good to me. I bet if we did a UA, they’d probably be hematuria.

        Hope the pain doesn’t bother you too much tonight.

        –Julius

  5. drtombibey Says:

    Julius,

    My man did confirm a stone and gives good odds it will pass.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

