What I did on Summer Vacation

        Corporate is putting in a new computer system in July, and we are running on a limited schedule.  (Sick only, minimal routine physicals etc)  As a result, I have nine days off this month; more days than I have taken in a month in my whole career.  I have gone plum wild.  Here are my vacation plans:

        Cajun peanuts and black coffee for breakfast.  My Marfar in a Betty Boop shirt, bathing suit, and flip flops.  (How this skinny country boy ever snagged the prettiest girl in Harvey County is beyond me)  ‘When You’re Smiling’ on the mandolin.  (It’s her theme song)  Having the kids in and out all month.  The Grascals and III Tyme out on the same stage.  Spitting watermelon seeds off the boat dock.  Floating on an inner tube.  Ski once for old time’s sake.  Listen to Bill Monroe on an IPOD.  (I can be modern when it’s called for)  Burgers on the grill and watch fireworks from the boat on the 4th.  The Darin and Brooke Aldridge Quintet at the Fiddling Pig in Asheville for Sunday Gospel brunch.  (July 5th)  Say a prayer when I go back Monday I still have the chops to be the best Doc I can for my people. 

        For me it is a perfect vacation.  What’s your idea of perfection for your time off?

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “What I did on Summer Vacation”


  1. Sounds like the best vacation you could ask for – rest, relaxation and even some fun outings in there :). I suppose those are the essential necessities for a vacation.
    Mine would be what I’m doing with my days now – lots of reading, writing, playing my trusty computer games and reading some more. Walks in the evenings and outings with friends would round that up into my perfect time off.

    • drtombibey Says:

      msslightly,

      That is great stuff too. Matter of fact, I think I’ll go get a good book and crawl in the hammock on the porch.

      Dr. B

  2. Danny Fulks Says:

    Doc, You’re nothing if not all-American. Considered a chew of Mail Pouch just to top it all off? Dan

    • drtombibey Says:

      Dan,

      My boys have tried to get me started on that (and white lightning too) for years, but I tell ’em my job is take care of them.

      But you are correct; it is that kind of vacation.

      Dr. B


  3. Dr B.
    Sounds wonderful.
    Time off means something different to me since I no longer work a 9-5. For me it involves a lot of movement – walking, snapping photos, swaying to music at an outdoor concert, driving through the country with hubby and ending up someplace unfamiliar and remote where we lay out the blanket, eat chicken and drink hot coffee and watch koalas and kangaroos. Sometimes it involves being bitten by ants, running from angry cows or even goannas and diving for cover when a freak storm hits.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Sharon,

      You are bit like me. Even with my time off I am always restless. Oh well, I believe the restless are the creative.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

