Gee and Haw with Jenny Lynn

        Me and Jenny Lynn are off to a good start right out of the gate.  Most important, the contract is in the mail.  I called her to let her know.

        “Good Bibey.  I look forward to working with you.”

        “Yes ma’am.  I think we’ll gee and haw real good.”

        “Beg your pardon?”

        “Uh, gee and haw.  You know, get along real good.  Mules that work together good gee and haw.”

        “Are you saying I’m a mule?”

        “Uh, gee… I mean haw…I mean no ma’am, no you aren’t a mule,” I stammered.  ‘Dadburn Bibey,  How can a man be so dumb as to call the woman a mule?’

         “I pray you aren’t either.  Nothing worse than a writer so stubborn they won’t budge on anything.”

         “Yes ma’am.  I agree.  Maybe I’m more like a ‘Wheel Hoss.’  “You know, round and round in mindless circles.”  I pictured the poor beast at the gristmill.  Hm.  Not too far from this writer’s life, I think.  Very close to the Doctor gig, too.

          “That’s better.  We have to stick close to Munroe for a bluegrass book, especially your first one.”

         “Yes ma’am.  Hey, maybe you’re more like Molly.”

         “Hell Bibey, Molly beat Tenbrooks in the race, but she died.”

         “No, Jenny, not like that.  In my book Molly is the heroine.  In fact she’s a plum thoroughbred filly heroine just like you, trust me.”

          “That’s better.  I can’t have you kill me off.”

           “Shoot fire Jenny, I can’t do that.  It’s in your contract.”

           She laughed.  “I like your interpretation of legal-ese.  I gotta come to Harvey County this weekend.  How am I gonna find you?”

        “Hm.  I gotta go the office.  O.K. if I call you later and give you directions?”

        “Can’t I just plug it in my GPS?”

         “No ma’am.  You can’t get there from here.”

         “Good grief Bibey, you ‘re stubborn as ….”

        “A mule?”

        “Yes.”

         “Might be, but I’m gee and hawing with a thoroughbred, Ms. Jenny.  And with that kinda ride, I like my odds of seeing the finish line.”

        “We might not win, Doc, but I think we’ll at least place or show, and I know horses.”

        “Yes, ma’am.”

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Gee and Haw with Jenny Lynn”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    She sounds priceless. Does she do dark adventures in women’s literature?

    • drtombibey Says:

      Pande,

      As it goes on, I am sure I will tell her of my friends. I found her through my agent and at this time that is the only way she takes referrals.

      My agent specializes in Southern Lit, and I guess I am that if nothing else. I am thankful for him ’cause he keeps opening doors for me.

      You keep banging on agent doors. I am sure one will open one day. I had a bunch slammed in my face along the way. When that happened, I’d just laugh, play a tune on my mandolin, and figure I’d try another door later.

      Dr. B

  2. MandoGrin Says:

    Doc
    You do have away with dialogue!.. What a crafty exchange.

    I know how important to all fiction is this “suspension of disbelief” ( the willingness of the reader to think … “Yes , this could actually happen” ) But I wonder if you’ve gone too far. Really, a woman editor who gets all your allusions to the classics ? My wife has become a bluegrass fan by proxy, but I still spend a lot of time explaining so much of it to her. The same quick exchage you had with Ms Jenny Lynn would have turned into a siminar with most folks by the time all the explanations were done …

    Now if this woman does exist, it is probably best that you keep her identity a secret …. I know a lot of fellers out there who would be linin’ up to court her.

    • drtombibey Says:

      MandoGrin,

      I promised her I would keep her a secret. She does her homework when she takes on a project. The last book she did was on boxing and all sorts of cauliflower-eared pugilists showed up on her doorstep, so this go round she has tightened up her contractual privacy requirements.

      I don’t think she wants to have to deal with a bunch of tobacco chewing bluegrass boys, but I assured her they are harmless.

      Dr. B


  3. Sounds like a perfect start to your working relationship – horse analogies :P. No, but truly, Dr. B – you’ve got someone with a good sense of humor who’s ready to tell you both what is right and what is wrong, and that’s important. Can’t wait to hear how you guys get along once you start workin’!

    • drtombibey Says:

      msslightly,

      I remember when I met my wife. (and my son and daughter) I knew it was right from the get-go.

      This isn’t that strong, but it is a similar feeling. It’s like when you run into a good reader and blog writer you like. You just have a sense it is gonna be a good relationship.

      I have followed my heart all my life and so far it has never let me down.

      Dr. B

  4. susan Says:

    Congratulations on your sale! I can hardly wait to reading your book. My granddad had a good friend who was a doctor, and he told us stories about “assisting” the man. Those were great memories.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Susan,

      Oh I should clarify. It isn’t quite sold yet. The editor is signed, though. The Publishing folks have reserved the right to see if I am able to work with the editor. I am betting I can.

      Having fun.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

