Hey Good Looking

        We had a gig last night.  It was for a local charity, and I enjoy those.  The guy I played with came up in old time and folk music, but is very eclectic.  Our show is a mix of folk, old time, bluegrass, and a little classical rock and old time country.

        Afterwards folks came up to speak.  I especially enjoy the influence our music has on the young people.  One told me he had picked up the mandolin because of me.  Another started a traditional music club at the school, and I always want to check in to encourage him.

        Overall it was a good show for a doctor.  Of course, I have had a lot of help.  Darin Aldridge has been a major influence for years, and continues to help me.  For the last year and a half I have studied under Wayne Benson too.  If a man can’t learn to play with Darin on his right arm and Wayne on his left, he is hopeless.  I can’t carry their cases, but they have shaped me into a decent amateur.

       But the main influence on me is my Marfar.  She is a busy woman and can’t come to everything I play, but she was there last night.  She had a meeting but slipped away early so she could catch the show.  

        Way back when I started on electric guitar it was in hopes of meeting girls. Well after Marfar came along I gave all that up.  But I gotta admit when I play mandolin and she shows up there is a bit of little boy in me.  When I saw her in the audience I couldn’t help but light up. 

        When we did ‘Hey Good Looking’ I dedicated it to her.  There is a line that says the fellow was gonna throw his black book over the fence.  Well for me when I met Marfar I tossed away my black book, traded it for a black bag, became a doctor and lived happily ever after.

        So, as the song says, “Hey Good Looking.  Whatcha got Cooking?”  Better go practice my mandolin.  Gotta do my best when Marfar is in the crowd.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Hey Good Looking”


  1. Dr. B,
    You make me believe that love can really last a lifetime. You should be proud that you and Marfar can convince a cynical youngster like me of that fact :). It’s always fun to achieve something when you know that someone you love is watching you and smiling.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    ms slightly,

    I guess Doc is still playing to impress his girl after all these years. We are very lucky people.

    Dr. B

  3. Cindy Carter Says:

    Hey Dr. B.

    I had to have some down time when I moved. Needed to recoup myself and get back on path. Doing okay. Glad you could sing to the beautiful half of your partnership last night.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Well hey Ms Cindy,

    I know breaking into that new job has kept you busy. Good to hear from you.

    Yeah the better half is considerably better looking!

    The book is coming along. We are at the contest and publisher search stage. So far so good. From what I gather, no news (ie no immediate rejection) is good news in this business. Time will tell what form it takes.

    In a way I hope it does take some time. I saw Indie the other day and he is bound and determined he is gonna see it to print.

    Dr. B

  5. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Proves the rule. Guys play guitar to get the girls. Mandolins are small, unimpressive things with very little sustain to them. Marfar must be really something to hang in with a guy who plays one. Now the banjo….

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Brother Ted,

    Marfar is beyond special, but I want you to know I also played guitar on a few songs.

    As far as the banjo, I’ve always heard the reason for all the jokes is the folks who can’t play one are really just jealous. Where I am from all the girls wanted to date banjo players. (I also learned it along the way.)

    Dr. B

  7. Susan Shay Says:

    I didn’t want to date a banjo player, Doc. I wanted to BE one. Never did learn, though.
    Susan

  8. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Susan,

    There are some fine lady banjo players out there.

    Allison Brown is a Harvard grad and was a Wall Street bond broker before she gave it up to tour with Alison Krauss a few years back. She and her husband own Compass Records. I think she plays more jazz these days.

    And also there is Kristin Scott Benson. Little bitty thing and cute as a a button, but can wear out a banjo. She was the 2008 IBMA banjo player of the year. She tours with the Grascals.

    And I can’t forget Murphy Henry who is a very popular teacher, performer, and writer.

    I am sure there are a bunch more.

    Dr. B

  9. A Gambler Says:

    Well writen, really!

  10. drtombibey Says:

    Hey thanks for the visit.

    Dr. B

  11. Smitty Neuse River Pres. Says:

    Doc, I know I go back to the Hee Haw show all the time but when you saw Marfar out in the audience, you seemed to know all was well.

    By the way , we had the gig at church the other night and we really played well. We made the church email to the community; that is big news for us considering the email goes to all points in and out of our community. I suppose the next thing we will have to get a myspace account.

  12. drtombibey Says:

    Smitty,

    She’s a tough, educated woman, but still has always been my biggest cheerleader.

    I am going to plan my next Mississippi tour well in advance, ’cause I’d like to be a part of another fund raiser for your church; that was a fun night.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

