Some Thoughts on Alison Krauss

        As you know, Alison Krauss won a bunch of awards at the Grammys. All of us in bluegrass are very proud of her.  She is an eclectic artist, but will always be bluegrass at heart, even as she dabbles in other genres.

        Years ago, Ms. Krauss frequented many of the same haunts as me and my bluegrass boys.   Even when she was a kid, we knew she’d make it.  Whatever ‘it’ is she had it, even back then.

        But I want you to know she is very down to earth and just a regular person.  Except for being younger, better looking, and more talented, I couldn’t see she was one bit different than me and all the middle aged boys I hung out with.

        Congratulations, Alison Krauss.  To me, you are forever bluegrass and always real, regardless of what music you pick on any given day.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: favorite known bands

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Some Thoughts on Alison Krauss”

  1. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I wish I were more optimistic about seeing Alison Krause as someone all bluegrassers love and wish well. Unfortunately, bluegrass suffers from the same sad quality Joyce noted when he described Ireland as a sow that eats its own young. Many bluegrassers seem to resent success in its children, especially when their music strays from the “pure” form they claim to love. They may be loving it to death. Sad. – Ted

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Ted,

    Some of them do, but if Alison wanted me to be team Doc and sub mando player for a tour I believe I’d go, at least if Marfar could ride out with me.

    I suspect many others would get over worrying how pure her bluegrass might be and go too.

    My best friend always says a true friend is never jealous or envious. I agree and wish Alison continued big success.

    Dr. B

  3. Billy Says:

    Way I look at it, once you are baptized with Bluegrass, you will always sing a universal truth it taught you.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Billy,

    It is true. Once bluegrass always bluegrass, ’cause they sing the truth.

    Alison happens to be an attractive young woman, but in bluegrass it all about soul, not show. The performers are appreciated for their abilty to sing and play, and one only has to love the music to be a part of it.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

