Bluegrass Barber Shop/The Making of an Author

        I like to keep y’all updated whenever I get an article placed.  In the last issue of the Laurel Magazine of Asheville there is one I wrote while on vacation this summer called ‘The Bluegrass Barber Shop.’  The Laurel can be accessed on my blogroll.

        I was real proud they chose me, but my editor, Mr. Paul Howey, said not to get the big head.  His boss wanted it written up by a bluegrass mandolin picking doctor, and the one he knew in Tennessee was tied up, so I got the gig.  (Sometimes availability trumps ability)   

        Mr. Howey is a good’un.  Any cat who wants me to play bluegrass music a half a day with a bunch of fine pickers, write up an article on it, and pay me to drive up there to boot can be my boss any day.

        With this article, I reckon I am now promoted to ‘author.’  (Definition:  A writer who has been published three different places.)  On the other hand, Clive Cussler has already claimed the title ‘His Authorship’ so maybe I better stick to being Tommy Bibey, bluegrass picking doctor writer.

        But, no matter how you cut it, this writer gig is one heck of a lot of fun.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: writer's corner

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Bluegrass Barber Shop/The Making of an Author”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    🙂

    Congrats! I’m still reeling from the thought that there is another bluegrass picking doctor out there!

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Pande,

    The most famous one is a guy named John Starling. He played with The Seldom Scene, a Washington D.C. area band, for years and is an ENT surgeon.

    Dr. Starling spent his days in the OR and his nights helping Emmy Lou Harris and Linda Ronstadt in the early stages of their careers. I have a good gig, but I wasn’t in quite that high a cotton!

    I guess it was cause he was a surgeon and a lead singer. A country doc mandolin player baritone part singer is a little ways down the ladder compared to him.

    Dr. B

  3. Cindy Carter Says:

    I agree with Pande, congratulations! Maybe you could be Dr. B Writer/Author Emeritus.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Ms Cindy,

    That’s good!

    I always be a just country doc and mandolin picker, though, no matter what.

    Dr. B

  5. Billy Says:

    Dr. B.
    It took me a little time to find it but you should put on the side of your Blog the link to recent articles that you have written, when and if you ever write any more. It was a darn good article.

    http://www.thelaurelofasheville.com/0908/index.php

  6. Cindy Carter Says:

    How about Blue Grass Mandolin Picker Extrodinaire?

  7. Amber Says:

    Good going Dr.B! Thats awesome. I sure loved NC! Beautiful beautiful… but I could have done without the humidity…

  8. mrschili Says:

    I’m living vicariously through you – I’ve not been published anywhere but my blogs, and I’ve certainly never been PAID for my writing. Good on you!

  9. drtombibey Says:

    Biily,

    Thanks for the suggestion. I have one more article to tell folks about, probably on my next post, so I’ll make it easier to find.

    I tell you what’s the truth though. I bet my agent will find me. I still owe him his 15%. (The check isn’t in yet but the Laurel is 100% reliable)

    Dr. B

  10. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Cindy,

    I afraid my highest claim to mandolin fame is “That Dr. Bibey picks good for a doctor.”

    Sometime I need to put you on to Darin Aldridge, Wayne Benson, Sam Bush or some of my other friends. When I listen to them, I know I’d best not trade in my stethoscope.

    But if my blog pals want to say I am a mandolin picker extrodinaire, I ain’t gonna fuss at ’em.

    Dr. B

  11. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Amber,

    Good to hear from you. N.C can be hot and humid. As one fellow said the temp is 95, and the humidity is near the same.

    Hey, the picture you suggested for the web site in development was a hit. We might have some minor variation on it, but we are going to use the idea. My agent said it looked like a country doc trying to juggle many responsibilities.

    Dr. B

  12. drtombibey Says:

    mrschili,

    The crazy thing about all this is I have no idea what I am doing, but I am having a ball. I give much credit to my agent and all my blog pals. I guess it takes a community to raise a doctor!

    Dr. B

  13. Karen Says:

    Dr. B

    I just had to laugh at your quote in one of the replies above…
    “I afraid my highest claim to mandolin fame is “That Dr. Bibey picks good for a doctor.”” I think you’re patients would much rather it that way than, “That Dr. Bibey doctors good for a picker”!!

    Congrats on the article – it’s such a buzz isn’t it. And yes, you can now officially claim the title ‘author’. Personally, it’s one I found hard to get my head around and still do!! But what an exciting journey…

  14. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Karen,

    You are exactly right. One reason I am never uptight playing music is if I make a mistake no one gets hurt.

    I love being a Doc, but I worry over it every day. The old adage of “do no harm” is very serious to me.

    The mandolin is a lark- a walk in the park. But I was never was all that driven about it, so I would rank my playing as a good amateur.

    And the writing- it is indeed a buzz. Quite a thrill to get your words in print- just a little touch of immortality, huh?

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

