Docs and Athletes

        Docs play golf on Wednesdays, right?  For me these days, I do.  I am the senior guy in the group, and don’t ask for any favors ’cause of it, but the younger ones let me play on Wednesday.  I realize it has no redeeming value, but I go anyway.

        Today was a good match.  I knew we had a chance on the first tee ’cause I drew Joey, a former Hooter’s tour player who got his amateur status back, as the “A” man.  I was the “B” player and Coach was our third man.  (He only fell to the slot ’cause of a wrecked ACL- Coach can still play.)

        Crash rounded out the foursome.  We don’t let him drive.  To paraphrase Burt Reynolds, never get in a footrace with a guy named Flash, never bring a girl named Bubbles home to meet your mama, and to add Dr. B’s two cents worth, never let a guy named Crash who likes to drink beer drive your golf cart. 

        Anyway, I had a good front side and birdied nine to turn at 38.  I felt ten years younger and five pounds lighter.  Coming home I got to leaking oil, but hung in for a round of 78, not too bad for an old guy.  Joey was a bit off his feed at 73.  Coach threw in two birdies and a crucial par, and Crash parred 18 so we let him drive to the parking lot.

         I was already counting Marfar’s mad money (I always give her my golf winnings) but but my old buddy Snookers blistered it for a 68 and took home everything.

        Oh well, an athlete, even one three sheets in the wind, will whup a doctor most every time.  Better keep my day job. 

        Enough foolishness.  Ms. Pande requested a medical post and when my readers speak I listen.  We had an interesting case at the office last week, and I’m gonna write it up for you guys.

        For now, though, Marfar calls.  I might not have won her any money today, but I have promised her a big night on the town at the local BBQ joint, and then we’ve got some friends coming over to play music.  Talk to ya in a day or two.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: golf stories

6 Comments on “Docs and Athletes”

  1. pandemonic Says:

    Holy cow, Dr. B! Did you play professionally? A 78? My, oh my. I’d be happy if I got less than a 120.

    I like that you didn’t let CRASH drive. I wouldn’t have either.

  2. mrschili Says:

    Never let a guy named Crash drive your golf cart. Good advice, there, Doc. It’s all about figuring the averages, isn’t it? That one seems like kind of a no-brainer…

  3. drtombibey Says:

    mrschili,

    If you let Crash drive in the end it might well be a no brain-er sure enough!

    Dr. B

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Pande,

    Well a couple of things. For one we play the white (regular men’s) tees. The blues are too much for me.

    We have a fast crowd of players- I am a “B” player in our choose-up. I guess I was blessed to be good enough to enjoy the game, but not good enough to be confused about what to do for a living. I’d starve at golf.

    Dr. B

  5. sshay Says:

    Who knew reading your blog would teach me to speak so many languages? First it was bluegrass speak, then doc talk, now golf yak.
    Soon I’m going to be really well rounded.
    I learned the “Crash” lesson long ago. We used to have a guy named Crash Carr working for us. He was true to his name.
    Susan

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Ms. Susan,

    I think there is a Crash in every little town, and they are all the same kinda guys. Not gonna be my designated driver!

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

