Guitars and Chocolates

        I remember as a kid when mom would get a box of chocolates for Valentine’s Day and me and my brothers would get into it.  We’d scrounge around in there and negotiate for what we thought the best ones were, but you always got surprised.  Until you bit into it, you never knew for sure what you had, but it was all good.

        Jim Hurst, the guitar man for the Clair Lynch band has out a new solo project called “A Box of Chocolates,” and the title is a match.

        Not only can Jim burn down the flatpick guitar, but he can hang with the jazz and pop gig, play the blues or finger-pick Kentucky thumb style, and do it all well.  I hear everything from Jerry Reed to Django in this guy’s style.

        And, any guitar man who has the chutzpah to lay down a cool track like the “Mando Bounce” is good by this old mandolin player any day.

        In addition to being a favorite guitarist, Jim is a class act Kentucky gentleman.  I have run into him around music circle for years.  Even though I do not know him personally he treats me like a long lost friend every time I come up to shake and howdy. 

     His new CD is a gem.  Like the title, or mama’s best chocolate, this is one to pull out of the box and savor the unexpected.  Enjoy.

        I’ll be back this weekend with more doctor talk unless y’all are bored by all this chronic illness business.  I agree- it ain’t as much fun as a new CD find or chocolates, but I did promise I’d further address an approach to chronic illness, so I’ll see you then.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: favorite known bands

8 Comments on “Guitars and Chocolates”

  1. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Before Irene, before bluegrass, before blogging, there was chocolate. I often say my proofs that there’s a God are chocolate and lemon. If the Hurst CD is that good, we’ll just have to get in line. – Ted

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Irene and the English Professor RULE! Dr. B

  3. mrschili Says:

    I have a great and abiding love of chocolate, and the fact that you used it as a metaphor for this music is enough to pique my interest. Off I go – AGAIN – to iTunes at your bidding…

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Ah Lawd mrs chili. It is true I never met a woman who did not like chocolate, but Jim Hurst would be a great guitar guy even if the CD was about “sparrowgrass.”

    Dr. B

  5. pandemonic Says:

    Mmmm… chocolate. You’re right about not knowing how good one can be, until you take a bite. My dear Mr. Demonic likes to give me Godiva, and I had always gravitated toward the dark chocolates, until he pointed out (correctly) that one of the ones he had tasted in the milk chocolate line was the best he’d ever had. Well, I had to have one.

    To me, there’s nothing better than good chocolate and good music. Well, maybe a glass of good wine to go with.

  6. drtombibey Says:

    With Ms. Pande’s vote the score is now 5,287 to zero- no woman has ever written in to say they dislike chocolate. The guys who read this blog need to take notice.

    Dr. B

  7. Jim Says:

    Wow Dr. B, I am so flattered you like my new CD enough to post such a glowing review on your blog. I cannot tell you how much that means.

    Just a bit of info about downloads, iTunes, etc.
    An independent recording artist such as myself has to ‘apply’ to iTunes to get them to allow one to have their music on their site for download. I have applied and am happy to do so, unfortunately they tell me they get thousands of requests and I am in the pile to be reviewed and either accepted or not. I haven’t heard eother way as of yet.

    Folks can visit my website to do a few things:
    Look around
    Sign my guestbook (as you did)
    Comment on my news/blog page
    Check on where we’re performing on the Calendar page
    and several more pages and info
    …and one can order CDs, DVDs, and go to a couple places for digital downloads.

    I invite you all there, and I wish you all a great ’08!

    Thanx again for this blog, Dr. B!

    Regards,
    Jim Hurst
    http://www.jimhurst.com
    Order CDs

  8. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks Jim,

    There y’all have the word right from the artist. All that i-tune stuff is kinda complicated for an old doc, so I recommend y’all go to a Clair Lynch show, visit the record table, shake and howdy, and get an autographed copy! Get one of Clair’s too- she has a great voice. (If they aren’t touring through, you can order from the website.)

    And just so everyone will be clear, I write up what I love and do not have any financial ties to anything I write about. So next month, who knows, you might hear about Butch Baldassari for example- one of his old CDs with mandolin and mountain dulcimer is one of my all time favorites.

    And too, I want people to know that while 99% of my work as a writer is fiction, when I review the bands that are real entities, I’m giving you the truth as I see it straight from the heart. Without art like Jim’s this old doc would be an all work no play dull boy, and not near as much fun to hang out with. So keeping the blog free frees me to say exactly what I think about things, and I like that.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

