Orthopedic study

        My regular post is due out Wednesday, but every once in a while, I’m gonna do a mini-post if something occurs to me.

        Right now I am on a orthopedics kick, and reading about all sorts of weird little foot fractures.  It comes in handy when treating athletes or dancers, but in my specialty, bluegrass musicians, it isn’t quite as urgent, ’cause for the most part they got all their rhythm in their hands.  (Now those metacarpal bones- a bluegrass doc better be up on all those.)

        I don’t know why I chose medicine and bluegrass music in this life- both are never mastered, and require life-long study.  Curiosity, I reckon.

        Studying all those bones this morning reminded me of my son.  When he was in the third grade, he came into my study, encyclopedia in hand, and said, “Dad, how many bones does a squirrel have?”

        “I don’t know, son.”

        “Aren’t you a doctor?”  He was confused.

        He has grown up to be a fine paramedic, and now knows just ’cause you are a doc, you don’t know everything, but I think I had him fooled up till that squirrel question.

        Wednesday, I’m gonna tell you about a lesson from a patient.  I have learned much from them over the years.

                                                    -Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: mini-posts

6 Comments on “Orthopedic study”

  1. Ted Lehmann Says:

    I don’t know about the hands, but Johnny Ridge, who plays fiddle with Al Batten and the Bluegrass Reunion as well as with the James King Band, taps his foot so hard it’s a wonder he hasn’t broken every bone is his body. And Man, can he pick. – Ted

  2. drtombibey Says:

    In that case, though this blog is not in the medical advice business, should he have persistent metatarsal pain and negative plain x-rays, I would recommend a bone scan, MRI, or ortho consultation.
    Would love to hear him play, too.

    Dr. B

  3. hollironquillo Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I love yours. I’m a bluegrass fan, so I’ll be back to read more!

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Good to hear from kindred spirits. I always say bluegrass folks march to such a different drummer that we don’t have one!

    -Dr. B

  5. drtombibey Says:

    Son of a gun, Dr. Bob. I wish I’d known you when my boy was going through school- you’re better than the dadgum encyclopedia. “Wisdom from Across the Pond” strikes again!

    -Dr. Bibey


Leave a Reply

