Wayne Benson- My choice for IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year 2011

Our kids cut their teeth on III Tyme Out and songs like “Erase the Miles” and “Raining in L.A.” as sure as Idid with the Beatles tunes “Yesterday” and “Hey Jude.” Of course Wayne Benson was and is a huge part of that III Tyme Out sound.  So a few years ago when the kids learned Wayne was gonna give me some mandolin lessons, they couldn’t have been happier if Paul  McCartney was to try to teach me to sing (I kinda wonder if Sir Paul could be that patient).

Wayne is still touring as strong as ever and his signature sound is the backbone of the second generation bluegrass mandolin; one that not only influenced my children but young people like Darin Aldridge. And the beat goes on. He not only teaches old docs, but also nimble-fingered young’uns like Jacob and Issac Moore. Wayne deserves this award for his continued dedication to the mandolin and bluegrass in general. The cat starts most every day with a cup of coffee and his mandolin to work not only on his own skills,  but to think of even better ways to pass it on.

One time a fan came up to a performer and said, “I’d give anything to play like that.”

Same here,” the artist replied. “I gave it my life.”

Wayne did too, he’s just too modest to brag on himself. He’s won a shelf full of awards but through an error in the bluegrass history book he has been inexplicably overlooked for the annual IBMA award. We need to acknowledge his contribution by making him IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year 2011. After all he has done for the music and us it is the least we can do.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Mandolin Players I Know, The Monday Morning Post

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Wayne Benson- My choice for IBMA Mandolin Player of the Year 2011”

  1. Carmen Claypool Says:

    Agreed!

  2. Danny Fulks Says:

    Put me down for Wayne.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Dan, My Lit agent says awriter should write what was true before you got here, what is true while you’re here,and what will be true long after you are gone. This this post was easy to write because it is the simple truth.

      Dr. B

  3. Smitty Pres. of Neuse River Fan Club Says:

    Doc,just saying hello, great choice as always on the Mando Player of the Year. Love me some III Thyme Out. I saw Mrs. T the other day and filled her in the best I could. Check out some Circuit Rider Pic from last Sunday night. You were not with us but we saved you place just in case. Take care and again great choice. Say hello to Marfar.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks Smitty, I am thrilled to tell you I am making genuine progress in my health. I’ve not taken my last trip to my adopted home state. marfar says hello. Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

