Progress Report and My Weekend Message

        One week into intensive treatment my doctors are able to document subtle but objective evidence that old “Long Gone” has been nudged in the right direction. I might not come out exactly the same, but I am convinced I’m gonna live, and I know it ain’t gonna touch my soul, my heart, or my music.

         My boy is in a survival gig right now too, (classified) except his is much harder than mine. I have  a pretty girl (my wife) who brings me food and supplies on a moment’s notice, he’s out in the wild and gotta go forage for it all alone.I don’t even know where he is. Pray for him. He does it because as he says. “Dad you’ve always taken care of me. Now you can’t defend yourself, and I’m gonna do it for you.”

         Pray too for the homeless and beaten and unloved and the defenseless. Pray for those little MACC kids. Send them some money if you have few extra bucks.

Hug your people close and tell ‘em you love ‘em.

My bluegrass people sustain me. They often call and ask what they can do. My answer is always the same. Send a few prayers, keep the Faith and keep the true music alive. You’re a big part of healing an old Doc, and no telling how many others in the crowd. You make my day better every day you pick a note.

         If you are new to the bluegrass family, go up the festival record table and buy a CD directly from the artist. Take ‘em home with you and put the music in your heart. Take it from old Doc.It’ll help heal ya.

God Bless you every one.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Thought of the Day, Uncategorized, Writing

19 Comments on “Progress Report and My Weekend Message”

  1. GrannyPam Says:

    Thanks for the good news. Keep the faith and remember that we’re praying and rooting for you.

  2. Carolyn Brooks Says:

    You Are right…prayer is needed by so many of us, myself included. I am continuing to send prayers to you as well as your family–especially your son. May God protect him & keep him safe. Also sending prayers of healing to anyone dealing with this nasty thing called cancer–may we soon be able to eradicate it! Continue your heeling & take care!

  3. dean Says:

    Doc…we hear you and love you. Positive energy is the greatest countermeasure, and I am happy to throw some your way every day. – Dean E.

  4. Pam Warren Says:

    I was talking to a cancer patient when I was at the Dana Farber Cancer Institute the other day and she said that it’s so important to have a good
    attitude. She told me that her chemo wasn’t as bad as she thought it was going to be, which I was happy to hear. I’m worried about that and the radiation. I have to have a lot of radiation because my cancer had spread to the lymph nodes in my back. I’m worried about losing my hair, but the woman at Dana Farber was telling me how she just tried to have fun with it and she got a lot of different wigs. She was really great. Best of luck to you Doctor B, I think about you all the time.

    Pam

    • drtombibey Says:

      Psm,

      I have approval from my wife to hold your electronic hand so me and you can get thru this together. We will pick St Anne’s Reel one day soon.

      B

  5. jel Says:

    hey Doc,
    thanks for the post!

    ya know y’all are in our thoughts and prayers!

    I can’t play a note, BUT I can draw one!
    and will post it when it is down! :)

    take care

  6. jel Says:

    Glad ya had a good day!

    and ice cream is very good! :)

    well I posted a note!

    Hope is very strong!

  7. kcleighton Says:

    Dr. B–Is it ok for me to say: You keep kickin’ the crap out of old “long gone” ya hear! Sending prayers your way every morning. I love how you talk about music and its healing power. When I was interviewing songwriters for my book, that was one of the first questions I always asked…you first learned the power of a song when……..
    For me, interestingly enough, it was watching a twenty-five year old man battling cancer play guitar and sing for a room full of kids with cancer. For 40 minutes the room and everyone in it was transported to a place where everything was perfect.
    I’m a big fan of St. Jude and all they do….it was very cool to learn through your blog how the bluegrass community supports their efforts.

    • drtombibey Says:

      KC,

      Yep The Lord ays light cussing is allowed when indicated and I appreciate the encouragment. Having a restful day. Will start the battle again in AM. Plenty of hope here. Encourge others with cancer not to be too scared. Will get there together.

      B .

  8. Mike Reed Says:

    Dr. Tom
    Just heard about your challenging journey and want you to know my prayers are with you. Though we just met for the week of the last IBMA doing the Bluegrass Blog reporting I could tell you were (and still are) a blessing to those who know you. Keep the faith and give it a good fight.
    Later,
    Mike in Texas

  9. rick bowles Says:

    Sending all good thoughts, prayers and major scales your way!!!

    rick b.


  10. Ah, doc, I’m glad to hear that things are improving, even though it’s slow. I’m worried about your boy now, too. I hope he’s doing better. I’m sending good thoughts and love your way, and I’m gonna listen to bluegrass and think of you.

  11. Becky E Says:

    Dr. B. I’m glad you are keeping on keeping on. You are in my thoughts and prayers and have been since I talked with Charlie. Becky


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

