Where to Find My old Recordings

        I am what I seem; a country doc who played in a lot of semi-pro bands over the years. Much of it was Neuse River for local BBQ church suppers and fundraisers. But I also had a secret life a while back I’m gonna tell you about. I played with several very high level regional bands. We recorded several CDs and saw good reviews in BU and other reputable trade magazines. I also thought I was the weak sister as far as talent, but I found my place. After all, how many bands can claim an on-staff doctor who can take care of you if you are sick, write you a doctor’s note to be out, fill in on either mandolin or guitar, sing the baritone, play the gig, and donate your cut for the gig as your sick pay?

         It will take a little time, but my old pal Moose Dooley plans to organize, archive ,and catelogue all those CDs and offer them for sale to the public. In keeping with my long-term plan to separate my doctor and art life as much as practical, all these CDs were played under a stage name, but no fear, you will know it is really me. I give you my word.

        When people buy a CD I like for them to know where the money goes. In keeping with my long-standing belief that money needs to go to the artists, not the biz people, Moose has assured me all the profit will go to the artists on the CDs. (There will be some expenses to get the project going, as some of the recordings are out of print. I was one of the artists, so I will see about 20% of the profit. In roughly equal parts, I plan to do the following with my share. I’m gonna buy my sweet wife some tokens to thank her for all her care. If I live, (and I think I will, a big part of the credit is to her. We have great health insurance, and few needs, but I might use some for a few incidentals that aren’t covered, such as an extra cane or another pair of balance shoes. The rest I’m gonna send to MACC. These kids need it a lot more than I do.

        Look for a link on the right side of my weblog page titled “Where to Purchase my old CDs” It may be several weeks, but I will keep you posted. It will have contact info for Moose Dooley Enterprises once he gets the operation up and running.

         And before too long look for some Moose Dooley stories too. I know a lot about him from his rasslin’ days.

Talk to ya soon.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Moose Dooley, The Monday Morning Post, Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Where to Find My old Recordings”

  1. jel Says:

    NO IF’S DOC!

    You Will!

    the Cd’s sounds cool !

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel, I heard from Moose today and he is on the move. It will take a little time. I believe folks will enjoy the records. These boys were some very fine players. I think the world will be surprised at how good they were . I held my own, but I was no star. I always knew I’d better keep my day job, and I am glad I did. It was the right mix for me. I didn’t have the temperament to travel either. Never wanted to be on the road away from Marfar.

      Dr. B

  2. Carolyn Brooks Says:

    Looking forward to it – please keep me posted!

  3. drtombibey Says:

    Guys, Should be up in a ew weeks. Ya’ll will get to hear me as a young’un. Lawdy! Dr. B

  4. Smiitty Pres. Of Neuse River Says:

    Doc, just down loaded 45 Years of Memories Charlie Waller………we are working on the song called Circuit Riders…….reading the Thanks by the band members Darin put in a good word for you…..he is a good one.

  5. kcleighton Says:

    A stage name hmmmmm???? Very cool Dr. B! Looking forward to hearing it.

    • drtombibey Says:

      KC,

      So good to hear from ya Sunshine. Yeah, one time the great Alison Brown came thru town (Look her up, fine woman, Harvard trained MBA jazz banjoist) and said, “Doc, just how many personas do you have anyway?”

      I replied, “They are all me but I had to do it to protect my patient”s rights to their privacy”

      As I always say, fiction must show the truth, but should never tell the facts.”

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

