Busy Busy Busy Life

        One time years ago I had a med student come through who said he’d never met anyone who worked and played as hard as I did, and that he needed to go back to the Medical Center and get some rest. I’ve been like this for a long time.

       My agent says art should have the symmetry of threes, and I find that is right. My current projects include the novel”Acquisition Syndrome” subtitled “From Healing Art to Business,” and a children’s mandolin book that explores light and sound. The tentative title is “Grandpa’s Mandolin Book”and it is in honor of our grandchild due this fall. In a few weeks I plan to start a mandolin duet CD with Darin Aldridge.

       This weekend I caught up on medical journals, and I’m still a doc, so it a busy, busy, busy, life. My blog posts may be a bit shorter for a while until I catch up, but stick with me. I’m here to stay. 

        Someone asked why I write. The short answer is because in it I find the renewal of youth. At an age where a lot of folks think they have seen it all and no wonder is left as a writer each day is as exploration as new as when a kid sticks his toes in the ocean for the first time. When I was a child Mama said I couldn’t stand to be bored for a minute. As a long past middle-aged Doc (my young readers fuss if I say I’m old) writing has saved me from that fate.

        Mama always was right.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: The Monday Morning Post, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Busy Busy Busy Life”

  1. rkbaker Says:

    “The short answer is because in it I find the renewal of youth”- I love this. Writing does transform us anywhere we want to go, past, present, or future.


  2. When I’m busy, busy, busy, that’s also when I’m creative, creative, creative. I guess I’m addicted to both! Passion fuels passion.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Louise,

      That is exactly right. If you stay busy all your creations might not work but some will. If you aren’t busy nothing gets to test the water and see how it’ll do.

      Dr. B

  3. newt221 Says:

    Age is a state of mind anyway. Some times our bodies don’t want to cooperate…but our minds can and do take us anywhere we want to go.

  4. musicwork Says:

    Hey Doc thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ve just had a read through your first page and enjoying it mightily. Your energy just bounces off the page. Thanks for the light!
    Gillian

    • drtombibey Says:

      Gillian,

      Bless your heart, kid. Anyone who has the word music in their blog post has old Doc hooked from the get-go. Thanks for dropping in, and I’ll be back your way too.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

