Bluegrass Disneyland in the Tobacco Triangle (How I Spent My Spring Break)

        It’s back to work Monday AM, but I’m recharged afer Spring Break. And no, we didn’t spend it at Daytona; for us it was “Bluegrass Disneyland” in the Tobacco Triangle. I guess a Doc who has spent a lifetime with books and music can’t change now.

       This gig got started because I wanted to go to a medical conference in Chapel Hill. I took in every lecture. As we say in bluegrass, the CD didn’t have a weak cut on it. So many talks these days seem tainted by modern influences of money, ego, or arrogance, but this was like a timeless book; a pure search for the medical truth as best we imperfect humans can interpret it. It was knowledge and teaching combined with social consciousness. And for a boy who grew up on grits and gravy, the Friday Center daily country cosmopolitan cuisine rocked. Five stars.

        Some time back, I met a U.N.C professor named William R. Ferris, who wrote the book “Give My Poor Heart Ease,” a story of the blues in Mississippi and beyond. He recommended I get up with Tommy Edwards the next time I was in Chapel Hill.

        “Of The Bluegrass Experience?” I asked.

        “That’s the one.”

        Well folks, if you want to take in Bluegrass Disneyland of the Tobacco Triangle, I recommend you hitch a ride on Tommy’s wagon. Your tour will take in places like The Q Shack, The Blue Note Grill, and The Pittsboro General Store. You’ll meet all kinds of fine pickers and true bluegrass folks. Tommy, along with guys like Snuffy and Leroy Savage, have kept the music going for almost a half century. If your travels take you to Chapel Hill, please don’t sit in a motel room and watch T.V re-runs, get out and see these guys play. They are real.

        Well, back to work. My posts may tend to run a bit shorter for a while. I’m head over heels into my second novel, “Acquisition Syndrome,” and I’m also at work on a children’s mandolin intro book I’ve dreamed up. I’ll keep you posted on these as they develop.

        And, I’m glad to go back to my patients too. In my prayers the Good Lord tells me it is fine to dabble in the arts so I can stay in the doc gig, but also to never forget my only real skill was to fill in all those little bubbles on computerized tests. If I was gonna be granted that gift and a subsequent lifetime of not working for a living, I’d better use it to help some people. I hope I have done some of that along the way. I sure did try, and I’m headed back to go at it again.      

       There is much more to tell you, and I will try to get to it all over the next few weeks. Talk to you soon.

Dr. B      

Explore posts in the same categories: The Monday Morning Post, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Bluegrass Disneyland in the Tobacco Triangle (How I Spent My Spring Break)”

  1. jel Says:

    glad to hear ya had a good weekend!

    still waitting on my CD!

    just kidding ;) (about the CD)

    have a good week to come!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel,

      It was lots of fun.

      Darin has his big festival the first weekend in April, and we are gonna start the CD the week after that. It will take me a while because I stay so busy with so much, but it’ll get there, so don’t give up.

      Dr. B


  2. Hey Dr. B,

    I’m glad you had fun and are recharged. ;)

    I have a question for you: Do you know of anyone who would be interested in some old sheet music? My neighbor tells me he has some “Old cowboy songs” and he’d like to find a good home for them. (As far as I know, he plans to give them away.)

    MWH

    • drtombibey Says:

      DGM,

      We sure did have fun. On the sheet music, a couple places you might call are Elderly Instruments in Lansing, Michigan or Gruhn’s Guitars in Nashville. If they don’t carry that kind of thing, they might know who would. You never know, it could have some value. They would know for sure if it did or not.

      Dr. B

  3. jel Says:

    hey Doc,

    just razzing ya about the CD!

    I don’t see how ya have time too do what ya do!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel,

      I think it’s ’cause I’ve got a great wife, a lot of curiosity, don’t watch T.V, we’ve already raised our kids, and time is on the side of a patient man. It make take most of this year, but I’m sure we’ll get it done.

      You’re from the “Show Me” state, so you understand persistence. (Some might call it just plain stubborn!)

      Dr. B

  4. drtombibey Says:

    From this old mule I gotta say the truth is the truth. Dr. B

  5. newt221 Says:

    Glad you had a blast at you “Disneyland”. Wish I could have been there. Since things are looking up for me somewhat…maybe I can actually make one of these adventures to see you come and your play come true!

    Can’t wait for the next exerpt from the new book…

    Enjoy the sunshine!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

