The Music Loft, Carrboro, N.C. 2:00 today

        Today at 2:00 I’ll be at the Music Loft in Carrboro, N.C. for a book signing. You never know how these things are gonna go. In the early days I did a book store gig and only three people walked in the whole time. We had a fun visit, and I’m proud to say they all bought a copy of “The Mandolin Case.” It was the only gig where I sold a book to every single person in the crowd.

        My poor agent often gets exasperated with me, ’cause I never have a set agenda. I get there, see what folks want to hear about and try to deliver. It’s part music, part country doctoring, and part physician bluegrass fiction, and of course I try to stay focused and tell people about the book. He went with me to one gig, and I got all engrossed in a hot jam session. After a while he came up to the stage and began waving his arms.

        “What’s the matter. boss?” I asked.

        “The book. The book. You haven’t told ‘em about the book.”

        “The book? Oh yeah, the book.” I reached down, picked up the copy I had leaned up against the mic stand, and held it up for the crowd to see. “Hey y’all, I forgot to tell ya, I’m the guy who wrote the book.”

       It’s hard to turn a country boy into some kinda lit guru. All I can be is what I am. I don’t know how to be anything else, and I’m too old to change now.

       Y’all come visit if you get a chance. If you ever wanted to sit on the front porch and talk to a doc who ain’t in a hurry, today’d be a good’un.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The Music Loft, Carrboro, N.C. 2:00 today”


  1. Now that’s truly living- being so taken by what you’re doing that you forget about the practicalities.
    Looking forward to hearing how the book signing went.

    • drtombibey Says:

      4 minute writer,

      I’ve gotten to the point in life where I take my wife, children, and friends seriously, and of course also I’m that way with cancer and heart attacks. The rest of the time I try to roll with things.

      Just got in. Had a big time, made a lot of new friends, sold some books and had a long radio interview I hope to be able to post on the blog or FB someday. Audrey, the lady from WCOM in Carrboro who interviewed me, was excellent. She not only had read the book, but understood all the layers I tried to write into “The Mandolin Case.”

      Will update more over the next week or so.

      Dr. B

  2. Laura Best Says:

    Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier today. It’s nice to meet a fellow writer.

    Ah yes, book signings. I like meeting new people so for the most part I enjoyed it. Someone even bought me a hot chocolate even though they didn’t purchase a copy of my book. And a six year old told me that I should open a lemonade stand and give away a copy of my book to everyone who bought a glass of lemonade. :)

    Signing are not always about the amount of sales, but the people you get to meet along the way.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Laura,

      I agree 100%. The book gig is just great big journey for me and my wife. We follow it wherever it leads just for the pure fun of it all.

      At this signing I played music with a man named Tyson Laney, who was a cousin of my old pal Glen Laney. Glen died about a decade ago, and was way too young to leave us. It was a “Circle Be Unbroken” moment to meet Tyson.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

