Pythagoras’ Bluegrass Band

        You remember Pythagorus from high school? You just never know when these classic cats are gonna show up in your life again.

        Lately I’ve been on this Greek classic kick. Pythagoras examined the notion of balance way back then. He probably invented the diatonic scale, and the Greeks came to believe the intervals of the scale were in balance with the colors of the light spectrum. I guess instead of doe, re, mi, it woulda been red, orange, yellow, green, blue, etc. for them.

        Roy Husky Jr. was a great Nashville country/bluegrass bass player who heard notes in colors. He did not read music, not that he needed to. I think for Roy it was intuitive, but maybe he studied the ancient Greeks; I don’t know.

        I plan to study this issue more, but it does reinforce what my Lit agent once said, “Son, you must write what was true before you got here, what is true while you are here, and what will be true long after you’re gone.” I think he’s right. The Greeks understood balance and harmony in a more sophisticated way than many modern people. I plan to look into how they did it more depth over the next few months.

        I bet Pythagoras would have liked bluegrass for its harmony and balance, and my guess is he’d a hired Roy Huskey, Jr. for his band if they’d been around at the same time.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Pythagoras’ Bluegrass Band”

  1. Billy Says:

    Bet you got a new Kindle recently. I know I did and to learn my way around I downloaded Aristotle’s book on Ethics and finding it is not that bad to read. I understand that Plato actually wrote his words, kind of like today “truth” has been translated into the songs of Bluegrass and recently The Mandolin Case. It is amazing how truth remains no matter who says it or sings it.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Billy,

      Yep, I love Kindle. You can get more classics than you can read for a few bucks. Unreal.

      I have found a lot of truth in bluegrass. To me the truth often seems simple, but often has escaped us in modern life. As my daughter says, “Daddy, you’re so simple you’re complicated.”

      Dr. B


  2. Because I live in the bluegrass state and love reading your blog. Someone awarded me and I’m passing it along! http://colddeadheart.wordpress.com/2011/03/13/versatility-rules/

    • drtombibey Says:

      C.D.H.,

      Old Doc always loves to hear from the bluegrass state, esp when it is from artistic young people who understand the need to pass it on.

      Dr. B

  3. Busgal "Janice Brooks" Says:

    Doc you know I consider myself perfect pitch. I sence C clear D blue. E green F black G white A yellow b flat Red and B brown.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

