Think Free

        Uncle Ted Lehmann wrote a recent post on social media and bluegrass I enjoyed. Here’s the link to his blog: www.tedlehmann.blogspot.com

        It set me to thinking about why I write and why I love bluegrass music and the community that surrounds it. It’s because it gives me hope we can still think free. Perhaps I should say this is a dream or a prayer, but I hold it close with what last few betz cells I have not yet whitewashed by mainstream media pablum.

        Don’t believe me? When gifted, honest vocalists have trouble making a living and multimillion dollars news is an awards show singer’s arrival to the gala in a giant egg; a kid whose pitch can’t be saved by ProTools, well, I won’t go on….

        You see, bluegrass people are independent-minded to the point it hurts.  Dedicated, talented singers and instrumentalists journey on in hopes the world will understand in spite of near five dollar diesel fuel and sleepless nights. They don’t do it for money, I assure you.

        I remember when “managed care” came in years ago. I begged people not to sign on. Many said, “But they are gonna take care of us for free.”

       Back then I told my nurses all that was gonna happen was instead of a county doc making 2.5 times a school teacher salary (which is obscene in and of itself I admit) there are gonna be business guys who make millions of dollars a year off these poor patient’s misfortunes and then buy expensive TV ads to tell them how lucky they are to be ripped off. I used to go home and cry over it. I was way too independent (OK, call me ornery or stubborn if you like) to buy the line. I am sad to say those concerns panned out. My nurses would tell you the accuracy of those long ago predictions borders on spooky.

        Going back to bluegrass, I am not enough of an expert on the business end of the industry to make many accurate guesses as to what direction it might take. I hope social media can inject more money into the system but also hope that, unlike managed care, the money gets into the right hands. I don’t give a d@^! if some big biz record executive ever sees a fat bonus again, but if all my journeyman friends got to six figure salaries for a lifetime of study of their art and the kindness to share it with all of us despite the odds against them, then I’m all for it.

         Maybe social media will help, but let’s all be careful and responsible with it. I’m gonna use it to empower true music in what small ways I can. I recall the old days of Indie at Medical Staff meetings. Regardless of the nature of the problem at hand he’d sit back, listen to the entire argument, then light a cigarette and say, “Gentleman (I regret there were no lady docs on the Staff back then) I don’t know exactly what’s wrong here, but it has something to do with money.” He was never wrong.

        Y’all take care and play hard.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Think Free”

  1. GrannyPam Says:

    Exactly. You are so right, on all accounts.


  2. Sounds right to me Dr. B….sad about the way things keep going…that ‘managed care’ messed up counselors too…not many good ones left that can earn a living…

  3. rommel Says:

    Nothing beats genuine passion. People are more practical and materialistic than ever. They are more tangible just to whatever is in front of them, to what’s popular. Everything is so immediate. People don’t explore the back alley anymore. Whilst, the real deal is not eluded by big colorful signs and bright lights of the commercial but by the rare, obscure remote areas that are true to its root and are untouched by the corporate world.
    I bow to people whose passion is still pure and are not poisoned by our worldly surroundings, whose pleasure and satisfaction are absorbed from deep within. I bow to people who continue to be true to the heart of their creations even when heads are facing to mediocre standards. For people who do things out of genuine passion and not just in it all for the money, I applaud to you. It’s endearing, inspiring and it’s noble.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Rommel,

      I agree. We gotta hold onto the passion as best we can in spite of the roadblocks often put in front of us by much of the modern wolrd.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

