Grandpa

        My son announced his wife is due in October. My goodness.

        I once read men did much of what they do in subconscious recognition that none of it ever can measure up to the creativity of birth.  I gotta agree with that.

        My respect for women goes back to Mom. I recall at age twelve or so I realized my feet had gotten bigger than the old loafers she wore around the house. It didn’t seem right. Still doesn’t.

        I have tried to my best in life. I remember when my boy came along. I thought “Lord help me. This is a whole lot more important than Organic Chemistry, and there’s no book to memorize so you can just fill in the right bubbles on a test.”

       But we did fine. Every so often me and him would get in trouble, but between his Mama and his baby sister (my daughter) they’d straighten us out.

       The world seems so much complicated these days, though. I hope I can be a good grandfather. I’d like to be able to show another generation life ain’t really that complicated. All you gotta do is pray hard and hold your people close. I’m gonna keep doing that and see how it works out.

        I gotta tell you though, I’m in awe, and can only pray I’ll be worthy of the role.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Grandpa”

  1. jel Says:

    Congrats !

    I’m sure U will be a Great Grandpaw!!! ;)

  2. Felix Miller Says:

    Oh, you and your wife are about to enjoy life even more than you have with your children. I love my children, and am grateful they turned out so well, but grandchildren are special.

    Barbara and I agree that our hearts grow three times larger each time we are with the grandchildren.
    The best of wishes to you and your wife as you embark on grandparenthood; it just gets better.

  3. newt221 Says:

    Congrats Dr. B. You will make one heck of a grandpa. But, Marfar better keep her eyes on the both of you!

  4. Simpkins Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS !!! Thats wonderful news !! Give Bibey Jr. my congrats !!

  5. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks so much guys. I don’t know what to say. I guess Cindy is right, and me and that little tyke will have to try to stay out of mischeif.

    Dr. B

  6. Babs Says:

    You are a wonderful man, and you will be a great grandfather! You’re right, there are no manuals. You play it by ear. You remember your grandfather fondly, I’m sure. It all falls into place!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Babs,

      Unfortunately mine were both gone pretty early, but I’m gonna do my best to do as I think they would have. I hope to teach ‘em music and arts and science, but more than that loyalty and real love. I have been fortunate to have all that.

      Dr. B

  7. Kathy Says:

    Congratulations! That’s going to be a lucky baby.

  8. GrannyPam Says:

    There is absolutely nothing better than being a grandparent, and there are no bubbles to fill in! Forget about doing a good job and enjoy the journey, the blessings are in that journey.

    • drtombibey Says:

      GrannyPam,

      Now that my friend is some good advice for an old goal driven doc. I reckon it’ll be as fine an example of unconditional love as there is. Test performance is immaterial to a child, huh?

      Dr. B

  9. The Turning Point Says:

    Awe is the word. I’m still in awe. My granddaughter and my great-granddaughter just stopped by on their way home in Nashville from Atlanta. The gg daughter was in a cheer-leader competition over the weekend. I looked at my wife, no way it was only yesterday that she and I were in college. P.S. she’s still a homecoming queen to me.
    Really blessed.

    Enjoy it just gets better.

    Jim

  10. Harlina Says:

    Congratulations Dr. B!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

