Shawshank- Hope and Redemption

        Shawshank is all about hope. Never give that up.

        You remember when the kid came to prison and Andy befriended him? After a while the kid realized Andy sure enough was innocent. He’d heard the truth about Andy’s wife’s murder from an inmate in another prison.

        Andy Dufresne only made one tactical error in prison. He shared his new knowledge with the warden before he’d laid the proper groundwork to protect himself, and his friend. The boy lost his life over it. I knew he was a dead man the first time I saw him step out in that night air.

        Andy learned from the experience. I expect then he realized if he was gonna ever see freedom again, he would have to be very meticulous with his plans. 

        Y’all, I’m what I seem, a decent but not perfect man. I find Andy’s situation parallel to some aspects of the doctor life. Every so often you have to deal with people of bad intentions. Force is usually not the factor that prevails over them, either. Some of these dynamics are shown in “The Mandolin Case.” More will follow in “Acquisition Syndrome.”  

       Think like a matador. He knows that bull is stronger than him, so he has to out-think him. He is lucky; bulls have small brains. In my book  “Acquisition Syndrome” you will see Bones stand in front of a metaphorical wall, wave the cape and say, “Now don’t go through there. “

         When Riley Harper crashes and complains, Bones just shrugs his shoulders.

        “Why’d ya go and do that?” Harper asked.

        “I dunno.”

        Andy also realized his even bigger error, though. He loved his wife, but didn’t show her. As he pointed out, even though he didn’t pull the trigger it cost her life too.

        So my message for the day is from Indie’s ‘Uncle Billy.’ “Trust few, confide to less, do wrong to none.” Learn how to hold your cards close, but at the same time, find the people you trust and hold them even closer; give them your heart.

         I was lucky. I have a wife who understood all that in me and stayed loyal the whole way. When I was young I almost thought if I read enough books and cared enough none of my patients would ever die. She pointed out the obvious truth; we’d better have some fun along the  way too.

        She’s a very smart girl; she even figured me out, and I love her for it.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Shawshank- Hope and Redemption”

  1. Felix Miller Says:

    The Shawshank Redemption does stick with you, with many lessons. Good summary of the key points, Dr. B.

    A good story from Stephen King brought to life by some superior acting talent.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Thanks Felix,

    By the way I have already signed up for the writer conference. I don’t how to make sure it happens, but I do hope you and Barabara can be at our table.

    Dr. B

  3. jel Says:

    Hi Doc,

    I hear of the movie, but haven’t watched it.

    Q? for you. (you had a wife, or you have a wife?)

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel,

      Oh yeah, she’s a sweetheart. Been married for many decades. We have two grown children. Will fix- thanks.

      Shawshank is worth your time. Some scenes are kinda rough, but still a movie that makes me think about what is important.

      Dr. B

  4. Jacqui Says:

    I’ve never even considered reading Shawshank. I’ll have to rethink that.

    So where’d you find time to write another book, with all the traveling you do? I’m still editing (and re-editing, and re…).

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jacqui,

      I just piddle at it a little each day. The first one took about ten years, although I didn’t write hard for many of ‘em. On this one I hope to have it ready for the editor by the end of the year.

      But as you said, before it is ready for her there will be a bunch of edits.

      My agent always says “every farmer knows the hardest part is chopping the cotton.”

      Dr. B

  5. Amy Gallatin Says:

    omg, I LOVE Shawshank….one of my favorite movies. Favorite scene is him standing in the rain with his arms raised to the sky…

    By far and away King’s best work.

    AmyG

  6. Martin Waddell Says:

    Hi, Doc, been a while since I last put something on your blog. Shawshank is a wonderful movie – I read the script first on the net, before buying the DVD, which I’ve watched several times. The character who gets to me the most is the warden – truly awful character who is constantly quoting the Bible and getting terribly uptight about his prisoners taking the Lord’s name in vain, while being involved in all sorts of corrupt and downright evil activities. My mother, who is German, had a good phrase for people like that – “Im Munden Bibel, im Herzen Ubel” – Bible in the mouth, evil in the heart – don’t we all know people like that, from all religions. Best bit is where the warden can’t even grasp that Dufresne is being ironic, after the raid on his cell, in quoting “Be ye watchful, for ye know not when the master of the house cometh.”

    BTW, many congratulations on becoming a grandad.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Martin,

      So good to hear from you. We still hope to get to Europe one of these days.

      Like you, I can’t stand a hypocrite. One reason Andy was a hero to me is he showed how a man who is smart, honest, and patient can outwit a man like the warden. I love the irony of that line too.

      Can’t wait to give the grandpa gig a try.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

