Indie Was (and is) Real

        I’ve heard from readers all over the world about “The Mandolin Case.” Even in the most cynical quarters folks have to concede you just help but love Indie. 

        One tough bright fellow who I respect very highly said the story wasn’t over the top like so many modern novels, but meandered like a slow river, and that he enjoyed the ride. I liked that.

       However, he couldn’t quite understand how Indie could be so unconcerned about his own personal dilemma. I know it is hard to believe but that was the way Indie was. As with so many other parts of the book journey, my Lit agent predicted many modern readers would have this exact reaction. 

       He’d say, “Son, I like the work, but you have to make it real. No one could be as good as Indie.”

       I’d reply, “But Boss, it’s true, it’s true. I know it’s hard for folks to understand but Indie really was that cool. And you always told me I have to write the truth.”

       He’d shake has head and walk away.

       I knew Indie as well as any Doc on the planet. When I was young, I’d tell him I wanted to be just like him. He’d say, “Now young’un, don’t be like me. I wish I could give up these cigarettes and you better never do something as dumb as I did with that French foreign exchange student.”

       But no one can ever say Indie didn’t care. I only saw him get mad once. We were at a jam session and someone made fun of him and said he shouldn’t have given in and settled with Betty Wilson, and that a real man wouldn’t a done that.

        I don’t know how the guy knew, ’cause we never talked about it. The session came to dead halt. Indie looked him right in the eye and said, “Look here pal. Blinky’s the one who got a bad deal, and I was trying to defend him. The way I see it we’re all here playing music and Blink was gone a decade too early. I never did get over it so why the h@## did you bring it up?”

        Snookers walked up and grabbed the man’s arm. “Buddy, you better leave here now or we’re all gonna kick your a@@.”

         We never saw the man again.

         I guess Indie never had to be mean, ’cause everybody in Harvey County would fight for him in a minute. We didn’t want anyone to change him, and anyone who was gonna try would meet resistence beyond what they could ever anticipate.

        My Lit agent always says, “Son, you have to write the truth; not only what is true today, but what was true before you got here and what will be true long after you’re gone.”

        Indie was, as is, real, and will be for all time. I had to immortalize him just the way I knew him. But I gotta agree with my reader; I never met anyone else like him.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Indie Was (and is) Real”

  1. Carmen Claypool Says:

    I found Indie believable, not a perfect character, but a good, real man.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

