Me ‘n Elvis

        We were just in Tupelo at Reed’s Gum Tree Bookstore. Tupelo is the home town of Elvis, and he still looms large there. In fact he showed up at our gig, and I have the picture to prove it. 

       In some (but not many) ways Elvis and I have a few things in common. We both grew up as country boys who loved mama and music, esp the gospel. I reckon it stops there.

       I never knew him of course, but if I had I’d a loved to play a song on the mandolin and sing some spirituals with him. I promise you though, I’d have let the man go enjoy the movies and not have bothered him. I’ve read where back in the day he’d have rent out the theater late at night so he and his buddies could watch a flick all the way through.

        In some ways I felt a bit silly posing with old Elvis, and thought it showed on my face in this shot. My wife liked the pic, though, and I guess there’s nothing wrong with old people having fun. (Me not my wife)

        Come Monday I’m gonna post some more about my visit with the school kids in Mississippi. I think I learned more from them than they did from me. I know one thing, I always learn a lot from coaches. When I was growing up, Coach carried even more weight than Elvis. 

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Me ‘n Elvis”

  1. jel Says:

    hey Doc,
    that is a way cool shot of ya and Elvis .

    I heard that he really liked his fried pb/banana sandwich! not a bad one at that ;)

    have a good week to come


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

