Quote for the Day

         My daughter sent this one to me. Does the kid know me or what? 

        “A doctor has opportunities for studying human nature which are given to no one else, wherefore a philosopher ought to begin his life as a doctor, and a doctor should end his life by becoming a philosopher.”   –Ancient Greek saying.

        After a life-time in this biz, it’s no wonder to me docs are a strange breed of cat. Your daily routine sees a constant wave of human pain and suffering, much of which you are powerless to resolve. I owe what sanity I have to my faith, family, and art. In the end I had to write in hopes I might pass it on, and ease someone else’s burden somewhere down the road.

        Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Quote for the Day”

  1. newt221 Says:

    Glad to know you Dr.B. You have a wonderful talent and don’t take it for granted.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      Bless your heart. You know, I really am a simple man. As my daughter says, “Daddy, you’re so simple you’re complicated.” I sure ain’t perfect, but trying to do the right thing led to a level of contentment I did not anticipate.

      Dr. B


  2. Dr. B, just wanted to let you know that I told a couple of folks I know that I started reading your blog. One of them (featured in my post ‘A Kid at Heart’) compiled for me a Best of Bluegrass CD so I could start to figure some of this stuff out. There is one instrumental piece that is 8 minutes and 40 seconds long that is excellent. He didn’t include artists or song titles so I’ll have to find that out.
    Crossing into another world :-)

    • drtombibey Says:

      4minutewriter,

      My goodness. I hope your friends don’t disown you for hanging out with a bunch of old bluegrassers.

      My agent runs in literary circles and is an artistic sort of fellow. He knew little very about our music when he signed me. I invited him to meet me in Nashville for the IBMA (International Bluegrass Music Association) conference. He stayed up until two AM, and said, “Do you know everyone here? This is like a big family.”

      He fell in love with the music. I have all respect for the old traditions, but the new has become a very sophisticated art form. It isn’t the stereotype of what people think.

      If you have any questions about bluegrass, feel free to e-mail me at: tom.bibey@yahoo.com

      I have a notion your friend is quite astute about the genre too.

      Also, a great source is the IBMA in Nashville.

      Dr. B


  3. That is a great quote. Truly, Doc, I admire you and your line of work. I admire you especially though because I know that you treat your patients with kindness and understanding. A good beside manner is rare in the doctors I’ve encountered in my short life – too much of which was spent in hospitals with dying family members – and so my appreciation of simply human kindness and empathy knows no bounds.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      One time I knew a man who a big shot in the medical malpractice world. He told me he thought I was a good doctor, but more than that he thought I was a good human being. I considered it one of the highest compliments I ever recieved. He is in the business of exposing medical errors, and his microscope for the biz is very powerful.

      We are still friends to this day. I continue to work to earn that trust with every patient interaction. I am human, and someday I may fail. When I do, it won’t be from lack of trying and I will be humbly sorry for whatever went wrong for the patient.

      Dr. B

  4. doug ross Says:

    I got one for you doc. “Enjoy yourself, its later than you think”. Just one of those things that made me think.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

