The Bumper (Case) Sticker That Went ‘Round The World

        Doc is having way too much fun; as much as they allow old people to have.

        Here’s how this got started. A well-known instrument case company has talked to me about a possible endorsement of their line of mandolin cases. The case is in the prototype stage right now, but I like what I’ve heard so far. They are gonna keep me posted with drawings etc. to see what I think. It may well turn out to be the lightest and strongest mandolin case ever produced.

       Anyway, I decided to print up 100 prototype promotional case stickers, and posted it on my FaceBook page to see if anyone wanted one. They were spoken for in 24 hours. 

        I have already decided to print up some more to get ready for the 2011 festival season. (I have twelve stops on the schedule right now) If the case deal goes through the new ones may also sport the name of the company, but I guess whoever has a hold of the first 100 can lay claim to the original. (that and a buck might get ya a cup of coffee)

        I thought my wordpress readers might like to see a picture of it, so I posted it here on my old case for y’all to see.

        About all I can say is this Internet thing is powerful. Here in Harvey County we just retired the Pony Express, and we’re still on dial-up, but I’ve never seen the likes of this modern communication.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: The Monday Morning Post, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “The Bumper (Case) Sticker That Went ‘Round The World”

  1. Cindy Lou Says:

    I love contests…So I just had to try and get a sticker….

    Since you asked us to describe something we liked about the book…I know you were just testing to see if we “actually” read the book. Good Job Doc…

    I really liked all the “double speak” when something referred to actually meant something else all together…

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      They are all out the door now, but the “Two Quote Kid” was the first reader to win a sticker. There was no doubt she had read the book and understood the symbolism.

      Dr. B


  2. The internet is truly amazing allowing anyone in the world to become interested in the case of the case- even a lil ol’ gal way up in Canada :-)

    • drtombibey Says:

      4minute,

      I reckon it’s like the discussion on your blog not long ago. All us writers can make an Adventure out of the ordinary, even a Mandolin Case case or Cling Wrap!

      Dr. B

  3. jel Says:

    morning Dr. B

    hope ya don’t mind , I put ya on my bloglist.

    have a Blue~ies grass kind of day! ;)

    • drtombibey Says:

      Jel,

      Very cool. I need to add you to mine too and will do so soon. Matter of fact I have a post planned in honor of my new readers like you and 4 minutewriter.

      Yeah, if anyone out there wants to get inside of the world of physician bluegrass fiction and Harvey County, this is the place.

      Dr. B

  4. Jeff Gilliam Says:

    I just wanted to say hello. I have my own site called http://www.jeffsbluegrassvideos.com. Please come by and take a look. Tell what you think.
    Papa Jeff

  5. Billy Says:

    Just want to let you know that when I pulled into pick up a load of Kia’s at the LaGrange, Ga. plant the dispatcher told me to come in and see the boss. I didn’t know what was up when I walked in. He had ordered a sticker for his mandolin case and wanted to know if I could use one also — seems that your staff had put two in the envelope. It is now on the left door of my rig.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

