Government Gridlock and Wall Street

        They said today on the news the stock market soared because it loves gridlock. Does this mean our society is more productive when the government is disabled, or is the message only that if lawmakers are handcuffed the rich and greedy can run wild? Maybe it just means in the long run, at least for a short while, one power group will prevail over another.

        No fear, though. It doesn’t matter which side of the debate you are on, through checks and balances the pendulum will shift over time. Hold to your guns, your belief will be in vogue again someday.

       As for me, I feel sorry for ‘em, ’cause very few of them play any music. I wonder how much peace they’d find from jam sessions at night rather than scheming how to eek out a touch more power or money.

        I’m gonna go play my mandolin. I’m neither smart or disingenuous enough to impact all that, and I don’t worry about what I can’t change.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Government Gridlock and Wall Street”

  1. Billy Says:

    I now know why Nero played while Rome burned.

  2. K. Says:

    That’s not a bad idea, peace can be found through music, but the music of my generation focuses on people that always get sent to jail for stuff, so there’s little hope there if we rely on current musicians like Lil Wayne and TI.

    • drtombibey Says:

      K.,

      I gotta say I don’t know those guys, but to me the best music is when it’s for regular people. I’m an old bluegrasser, and that’s what our focus is.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

