Acquisition Syndrome

        I have a lot going on, but the success of “The Mandolin Case” has convinced me to get back to work on my second book, “Acquisition Syndrome.” It is a story that documents  the demise of medical practice as a cottage industry, and its evolution into a business. I’m not sure it was such a good thing, but now that process is complete, I want to document what happened. Just as in “The Mandolin Case” I’m gonna use the medium of true fiction.

        I don’t look for it any time soon, but maybe some day the pendulum will swing back, and medicine will be about people again. As Moose Dooley once said, “When I got into health care I thought we’d talk about germs, but all we talk about is money.” The better people are informed as to the inside true story, the more likely the system could someday return to some semblance of rational.

       But for now medicine is a business. And it will stay that way as long as someone can make a million dollars as a scooter salesman and see little but trouble for efforts to encourage people to walk.

        As the old doctor would say at the end of every Medical Staff meeting confrontation, regardless of the issue at hand, “Gentlemen, I’m not exactly sure what’s wrong here, but I think it’s got something to do with money.” He was always right, and that is why the subtitle for the story will be along the lines of “Something to do with Money.”

        I will keep you posted as it goes along. I hope to have a Grisham style outline completed by the end of the year, and a very serious MS ready for my editor Dorrie by the end of 2011. Stay tuned.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Acquisition Syndrome, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Acquisition Syndrome”

  1. Lisa Husted Says:

    To put it simply, get r dun – we can’t wait!!

  2. Felix Miller Says:

    “…someone can make a million dollars as a scooter salesman and see little but trouble for efforts to encourage people to walk.”

    Isn’t that the truth? There is a reason medical equipment is one of the few growth centers in our depressed economy.

    I look forward to this book. Keep on writin’ and pickin’, Dr. B.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      When it comes out I ought to mail you the first copy. I believe in not changing too much as I go along. Same wife, same kids, same mandolin, same friends and readers; all good.

      Dr. B

  3. newt221 Says:

    Okay, the clock is ticking… Can’t wait to get into another Bibey book.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

