First TV gig for “The Mandolin Case”

        Thought y’all might enjoy this clip from the TV show on WSPA Ch 7 from Wednesday August 25, 2010. It is an interview with me about “The Mandolin Case” and with Darin about the Darin and Brooke Aldridge CD. After that Doc got to pick mandolin with Darin Aldridge and Wayne Benson of III Tyme Out. It was better than batting practice with the Cubs. Here’s the link:

       
        Yesterday was beyond memorable. Bless Darin’s heart, he spent the whole day with me in Greenville, S.C. to help me jump-start “The Mandolin Case.” I’ll bet the kid got thirty phone calls about the bluegrass biz during the day.
       
        We picked with Wayne Benson on T.V., then had an interview on the Jack and Kimberly Show. After lunch it was a bookstore stop at Fiction Addiction, then that evening we jammed with Kristin Scott Benson and David Snyder at Horizon Records.      
       
        My Song of the Day on FaceBook was “Lonesome Road Blues.” In bluegrass there are few lonesome roads. I’ve seen a lot of hard times for my people, but not too many myself. When I do though, I’m thankful I never travel alone. And that, folks is the point of “The Mandolin Case.”  
       
        Y’all have a blessed day.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

34 Comments on “First TV gig for “The Mandolin Case””

  1. Ron Tyrie Says:

    Well done Dr B,
    I wish I could have watched the show live but I thank you for posting the link.
    They say you can tell a lot about a person by the company they keep. I believe Darin and Wayne would have to try real hard to find better company.
    Keep up the good work and please give your bride my regards.
    Ron Tyrie

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ron,

      Lord have mercy man when I started to read your comment I thought, “Yeah, I’d be hard pressed to be in better company than these two guys!” My bluegrass young’un and bluegrass brother have taught me an awful lot of mandolin.

      Ms. Marfar says howdy back your way.

      Dr. B

  2. newt221 Says:

    I am so glad that you guys had a good time. I am sure that it was something you will remember for a long time. Kudos to you Dr. B.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      For a doc who has spent a lifetime trying to keep things in balance and maintain the proper perspective, the day was about all the payback I could ever ask for the artist part of my journey.

      My guess is it’s only in bluegrass that young musicians of that caliber jam with old Docs just because they are friends and want to help the guy out.

      Dr. B

  3. Simpkins Says:

    Dr. B.
    That is a awesome clip , I do believe Indie would be proud .

    Simpkins

    • drtombibey Says:

      Simpkins,

      I think he would too, brother.

      Darin and Wayne were their usual unbelievable, and old doc picked good for amateur. A young lady in the crowd at Horizon Records asked me what the most important thing in mandolin playing was. I thought for a moment then said, “Pick good friends.”

      I guess Mama was right from the get-go.

      Dr. B

  4. Carmen Claypool Says:

    What fun for you! I love that we can all share the moment, through the clip. Glad you posted this one.

  5. Levonne Says:

    Congrats Dr. B. Keep on rolling.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Levonne,

      Sure enough having fun. At my age (and any age I guess) I think folks ought to grab for all that they can as long as the fun doesn’t hurt anyone.

      Dr. B

  6. junebugger Says:

    You were on TV! Oh, that’s awesome! I wonder if there’s any way I can access it online? Anyway, how did you feel during the interview? Nervous?

    • drtombibey Says:

      junebugger,

      Try the long link just under the Jack and Kimberly picture logo mid page. It should work, but if it’s broken let me know.

      It is strange, but I wasn’t nervous. Part of this is because my real job is a daily minefield, and this was just for fun. More than that, though, I was surrounded by two of the best mandolin pickers in the world, and they are such good friends. I knew all I had to do was turn them loose and it would be good. All I had to do was not tangle them up.

      Dr. B

  7. bobleckridge Says:

    hey thanks for telling me this was here Tom – how GREAT to see and hear you – a famous TV star!!
    My wife Hilary just watched that clip with me and said she’d really like to go hear you in one of your concerts!
    Maybe some day huh?
    Lovely little interview too. You’re a good guy, Tom bibey

    Dr Bob

    • drtombibey Says:

      Bob,

      Mercy sakes. World famous all throughout Harvey County; so small City Hall is in the back of the Dairy Queen. Someday I’m gonna get to Scotland. When I do I’m gonna play you a tune. Lots of our songs came from across the pond.

      Dr. B

  8. Melissa Says:

    That’s so great, Dr. B! Thanks for sharing that clip with us. :)

    • drtombibey Says:

      Melissa,

      It was a bunch of fun. We did it in one take and Darin and Wayne dreamed up the harmony ending on the spot.

      As Darin would say, they both practiced it, but they came to the gig in different cars.

      Dr. B


  9. YAY! Now you are the famous Dr. B. or is that infamous? ;) Congrats!

  10. bloowillbooks Says:

    This was wonderful! I’m an Aussie, so my exposure to bluegrass has been minimal. I really enjoyed this. My son plays guitar and has been at me for years saying he wants a mandolin. I keep aking “Why?” Sigh…now I see.

  11. Sharon Says:

    Dr B, you presented beautifully during the interview – well done. Love the tune too!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Sharon,

      It was my first TV interview, so I’m learning as I go. Hey, raising kids is sorta that way too. My wife I had no idea what we were doing, but if you love ‘em and have fun it has a way of working out. All the best to you and yours.

      Dr. B


  12. How fun to get to see you again, Doc! I loved the song y’all played – it was beautiful.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      I’ve made my living as a doc, but the mandolin has been much fun and has kept me going in the hard times.

      Those guys are great players, but I felt like I at least kept up.

      Dr. B

  13. peter temple Says:

    Your mando picking has come a long way since the old front porch days. Keep it up and hope you can make it down here soon. Congrats on the book raves. plt

    • drtombibey Says:

      Peter,

      All the fun I’ve had in music I owe to you, ’cause you were the cat who showed me I could be both a doctor and a musician. You gave me the courage to do both, and it made my life so much better.

      Dr. B

  14. Smitty Pres. of Neuse River Says:

    Doc, thanks for the heads up…..boy that seemed like lots of fun……..I enjoy seeing people enjoying what they do.

    Headed to another church gig tonight after last nights picking………

    By the way, never heard three mando before, great sound…was that your fern you were playing?

  15. Billy Says:

    Got an email from a cousin in Germany. Said he just bought your book off Amazon in Germany. Said he bought it in English. I did not know Amazon had outlets around the world. I sent him this video and the YouTube of your radio interview. Looks like you are growing world wide.

  16. Big Mike D Says:

    Dr. B,

    Sorry for not returning the call yesterday. I was working in a no cell phone zone for most of the day. then, the wife got me on her to do list ont he way home from work and well….you know how THAT goes.

    I will get a message to Hiro and remind him of the visit to the the homeplace and that the book will be available in Japanese.

    You keep on keeping on. You are such the ambassador.

    Big Mike D (son)

    • drtombibey Says:

      Mike,

      I’m an unlikely candidate, but if can get folks around the world to listen to guys like Darin and Wayne, and your boy with Mountain Heart, then I need to keep on.

      Once they listen, they fall in love with the music, just like we did years ago.

      Dr. B

  17. joannehuspek Says:

    Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

