A Day for the Bluegrass Family

        Wednesday promises to be a nice day for the bluegrass family. It isn’t every day our music gets on big-time commercial T.V. but that is exactly what’s gonna happen. Megan Heidlberg from WSPA Channel 7 asked me to be on the morning show to talk about “The Mandolin Case.” I told her I thought it would be a stronger presentation if I could bring a few friends to play, and she agreed to do that. We’ll be on at 10:00 AM on August 25, 2010.

        It is so appropriate. Other than immediate family, my bluegrass friends are the most important people in my life. In many ways they are like family. On a day when I have a family member who has potential to be in harm’s way (can’t talk about it) my bluegrass young-un (Darin Aldridge www.darinandbrookealdridge.com) and my bluegrass brother (Wayne Benson www.iiirdtymeout.com are gonna play some triple mandolin with me on live T.V. When you see them, buy their CDs and tell ‘em Doc said his life was so much richer for knowing them. I see a lot that is hard, and the music saved the day for me at times. I assure you this will be the case Wednesday.

        After the morning T.V. show I’m gonna find some lunch for me and my pals and put it on my official “Physician Bluegrass Fiction” account. (I have faith we’ll sell enough books to cover expenses) Then at 2:00 I’ll be at a book store, Fiction Addiction, for a book signing along with Darin. (Wayne has a recording session at that time) Check out their website. The store is owned by women but they do not discriminate against old male doctor/bluegrass pickers. This is also most apropos, ’cause about 90% of my readers are female. (My daughter says that’s because men don’t read that much; she’s probably right.) Here’s the website for the bookstore. http://www.fiction-addiction.com 

        Thanks for having me, guys. I hope you’ll find something you like in “The Mandolin Case.” If you don’t, all is not lost. Wait till you hear Darin play the mandolin. Take one of his CDs home with you. The kid is beyond gifted and his wife is one of best new singers in bluegrass. (or any genre) 

        After that we’ve got few hours to kill. We’ll probably sit on a park bench to pick music and eat ice cream. Then at 5:00 we’ll be at Horizon Records. Here’s their link: www.horizonrecords.com This is an institution in Greenville, and likely the number one source for traditional (and other genres) music in the area. We may well have a special guest for a song, but I’m not gonna announce anything till we are there. As I get to know my bluegrass friends better, I am forever impressed at the personal juggling act they have to perform every day to bring us all this fine music. It involves buses and planes and car drop offs and hitching rides to Kentucky and a barrage of text messages and phone calls to make it all work.

        Again, and I can not over emphasize the point, if you like what they do, buy their CDs. They love the music and are about art first and business second, but that is the only way they can stay out there. For them to be able to go deep into the art they must have our support to make it work. It’s the only way we can have the music.

        “The Mandolin Case” was written on many levels, and for many reasons, but one was to make this point. Art, and the mandolin and bluegrass music in particular, saved this old Doc’s life. I rode home from the hospital many a night dead dog tired and arrived safe because my artist friends rode with me via my cassette player. All I’m doing with this part of my message is paying them back. It is that important to me, and I’m never gonna forget to show anyone who will listen.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “A Day for the Bluegrass Family”

  1. newt221 Says:

    Sounds like you have a plan…Enjoy yourself!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      They say you can’t teach an old dog new tricks, but I’m enjoying exploring the art world. We’ll have a big day and a lot of fun, but then I’ll return to the doc gig and not go back out for a while.

      It might all be a big flop-ola, but if we have fun trying it was a success in my eyes.

      Dr. B

  2. Felix Miller Says:

    Hoping the TV gig will be on video sometime, Doc. We will look for y’all.

    As for your troubles and trials on that day, may Wednesday’s music and friends help you to those green pastures.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      I figure it’ll make it’s way to YouTube one way or another. As the first guy to buy a copy of “The Mandolin Case” I sense you understand how much the music means to me to see hard times thru. Bless you.

      Dr. B

  3. worddreams Says:

    Aren’t you a busy guy? I’m addicted to staying home. If my book ever made it big, I can’t see myself in all those crowds. I can see how music can speak for you, if you were shy, too (which you probably aren’t).

    • drtombibey Says:

      worddreams,

      I am a homebody too, and at first the thing got a little carried away. After the first month, we decided to limit it to one weekend and one Wednesday a month, because we didn’t want it to interfere with the rest of life.

      My wife and I wanted to travel and see the country before we go too old to go, and the book is a vehicle to meet people and play music.

      Once I wind up in the nursing home I’ll play bingo with no regrets, but I’ll try to keep jamming there too.

      Dr. B

  4. Nancy Layton Says:

    Dr. B – Just wanted to say how much I enjoyed your book. My parents met you at the Red, White and Bluegrass festival in Morganton and got a signed copy of your book. Once they finished reading it, they passed it on to me, and I read it in 2 days, I just couldn’t put it down. To those who don’t know ‘our way of laid back living’, you paint a very realistic picture for them. Music is such a part of my life, and I owe that to my parents who played bluegrass tapes and albums for me growing up, when bluegrass just wasn’t cool. I realize now just how very cool they were (and still are).

    We are right outside of Spartanburg, but within the WSPA viewing area, so we will definitely be watching you tomorrow morning at 10am.

    Happy pickin’ and continued writin’ success,
    Nancy

    • drtombibey Says:

      Nancy,

      Bless your heart. I am humbled by everyone’s kindness. Yeah, y’all tune in, and tell folks their father’s bluegrass was great, but with these young’uns nowadays it’s better than ever.

      Oh, and thanks for telling ‘em about “The Mandolin Case” too. My Lit agent gets mad as fire when I forget to mention it.

      Dr. B

  5. newt221 Says:

    Just wanted to say “break a leg”. I think that is what I am suppose to say anyway. Enjoy yourself and fill us in on tomorrow…..

    • drtombibey Says:

      Cindy,

      Too good! You’re gonna be all bluegrass by the time you get to middle age, girl. You’ve still got time to learn the fiddle. Come play for me at the Nursing Home when ya do; old Doc’s gonna have fun till the end.

      Dr. B

  6. Simpkins Says:

    Dr B,
    Happy picking …I know you and Big D ,and Bro. Wayne will do us all proud .

    Simpkins


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

