Guest Post- Melissa

Remembering My Writing Journey (So Far)
By: Melissa Wright

        Maybe you could say I was born to be a story-teller. I can remember the first time I put pen (okay, crayon) to paper and wrote a story. I was five years old and I had stories to tell. Even back then, I knew being a writer is what I wanted to do. I was meant to do this.

        As my school years went by, my love for writing developed more and more. My stories involved pets, friends, unicorns, family, etc. You name it, I probably wrote about it when I was a kid. I even wrote a story about a dinosaur coming to my school and chasing me and my friends around. Let’s just say, I had a very over active imagination.

        Once I got to college, my life became all about the “college life.” Hanging out with friends, going to classes, writing huge amounts of papers. I’m sad to admit that I didn’t make the time to write. At all. I actually started to write a screenplay during my sophomore year, but it wasn’t really the same as writing a story. To be honest, I’m still working on that screenplay…

        It wasn’t until last year when I graduated that I decided to make my dream of being a published author a reality. I remember where I was when I got the idea for the book I’m working on right now. I was sitting in my room, listening to music when my main character, Ben, invaded my mind. It was almost like he was telling me his story right then and there. He was urging me to tell his story for him. Of course I couldn’t say no.

        I didn’t waste any time. I got to work, making plot outlines and character sketches. I did the usual research, but this book is about an issue that I’m quite familiar with. It’s something I can relate to. I hope others will feel the same.

        I’ve struggled with this book. Being a young, college graduate, people expect you to do a certain thing. I live in a very rural area where girls usually become nurses or teachers. They go off, get married, and have a few kids. They don’t go off to college and then come back to write a book.

        That’s unheard of! What I like to say is this: “I don’t like to fit the mold.” They tell me I’ll struggle and I have. They tell me it’s not worth it, but it is. What they don’t realize is that I was born to do this.

        Sure, I have to deal with the people who doubt me. They’re loaded with constant negative criticism. I’ve built up a wall to deflect all that while I’m writing. My stories are going to mean something to someone one day. I write to give people experiences they’ve never had before. I write to give people knowledge of issues they don’t really understand. Take a walk in my characters shoes and everything may become clear. That’s why I don’t listen to the doubts.

         As writers, we all get that negativity from some people. We all learn to deal with the frustrations that we may feel from time to time. The other day, I sat at my computer, staring at the screen, feeling so emotionally drained from a difficult scene that lay ahead. I didn’t know if I could do it.

        At that moment, Ben came back into my head, and I saw my purpose again. It’s funny how sometimes your characters can remind you of what you have to offer. You see, I have a dream of becoming a published author, so I can share my stories with the world. For now, I’m an unpublished author, looking to share those words, eager to do so. It’s been quite a journey for me. Going back and reading that first story I ever wrote about my cat gives me motivation to keep going. It keeps me determined to be successful as I finish this book and go out on my search to find an agent. I may be a “rookie writer”, but I can write. Soon, my stories will reveal that.

        Do you remember the moment you knew being a writer was what you wanted to? Do you still remember what it felt like to create something from your imagination and make it real for others to see? I do. I was five years old when I first started this journey. Now, I’m 26 years old, and I still have stories to tell.

-Melissa Wright

Dr. B- Melissa’s blog link is: www.thestoryinme.wordpress.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Guest Posts, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Guest Post- Melissa”

  1. drtombibey Says:

    Melissa,

    I enjoyed your post. Your determination shines through. I have a thing called the ten year rule. When someone starts a new thing, be it medicine, golf, music or writing, they need to think about where they want to be in ten years and not worry too much about next week.

    Since you started at age five, I guess that’s what you’ve done, huh?

    I hope your post will encourage other young people to keep at it.

    Dr. B

    • Melissa Says:

      I hope so, too, Dr. B. :) I haven’t given up yet and I don’t really plan on it either. I have high hopes that people will be reading my novel one day soon.

      Thanks again for giving me the opportunity to share my post with your readers!


  2. [...] here to get to Dr. B’s blog. Let me know what you [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

