The Journey of the People’s Mandolin July 2010

        About a week ago I got  a note from Tim And Vicki at Strawberry Park in Preston, Connecticut. They reported the People’s Mandolin would change hands at the Grey Fox festival held July 15-18, 2010.

        This was most appropriate.  The first proof copy of “The Mandolin Case” was delivered to us in New England at Strawberry Park. There we ran into Lisa Husted from Grey Fox. She was the first person outside of my immediate circle to recognize the relationship of music and healing in the story.  (Right away she became just as Harvey County to me as all the rest of us.)

        I wish I could have been at Grey Fox. The release of the book has been a whirlwind, and I found out real quick I wasn’t gonna be able to be everywhere I wanted to be. However the next best thing is to hear from them. Here’s the note I just got from Isabelle who passed the mandolin on this weekend.

        “I had the honor of having the Peoples Mandolin from June 1st until July 18th. I had Sarah Jarosz and Ron Thomason of “Dry Branch Fire Squad” sign it. I was sad to give it away, but I’m glad someone also gets to enjoy it for a month. I want to thank Tim and Vicky for picking me to play this mandolin for a month. I also want to tell Dr. Tom Bibey that this was a really cool idea and thank him for recognizing mandolin players and making them feel extra special. GOOD LUCK ZOEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Thanks,
Isabelle

       Isabelle and Zoey are cute kids, and I’m glad they are part of the Journey. One person at a time, we’re gonna keep true music alive and well.

        After all, Lisa is right. Music has the power to heal better than pills for this old Doc, and we need to pass it on.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Journey of The People's Mandolin, memorable gigs, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Journey of the People’s Mandolin July 2010”

  1. Billy Says:

    The traveling mandolin is one good idea, one darn good idea. Hope to see it someday.

  2. Melissa Says:

    I think music and literature both possess the ability to heal in ways medicine can’t. :) That is one of many reasons why I write.


  3. I agree with Melissa, too, Dr. B. Words and music… Boy, they’re powerful things. I can’t think of anything else that can stimulate moods, bring one to heights and downs and can heal and distract from pain as well as those things.

    I can’t wait to see where the People’s Mandolin gets to next :).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

