3,001 or Bust -Great Expectations

        I’m like a large child at Christmas. They tell me the presses are rolling and the Amazon link should be up any day. Now all I can do now is wait. I recall the words of Paul Howey, my editor at The Laurel of Asheville, “patience my boy, patience.”

        Oh well, I guess it keeps old Doc young. As soon as it comes out I’m gonna have to get back to work on “Acquisition Syndrome.”  I’m the type to always have something to look forward to.

        Once “The Mandolin Case” is out there, I have to move forward. I look at it not as the finish line, but only a chance to get to the starting gate. I feel like a pony who has trained for years and now they’re gonna let me on the track to run. I hope I don’t stumble and break a leg before the first turn. I’m not the type to be nervous about much; as a doc I have seen a lot, but I gotta admit my heart is in this book, and I hope it doesn’t fall too flat.

        My only sales goal is 3,001. I have high hopes, but I know it ain’t “Great Expectations.” I only got one critical review in the run-up to publication. One fellow said he thought all the music needed to be changed to opera and insinuated bluegrass people wouldn’t read. That made me mad. It’s okay to diss me but don’t get after my people. (I’m like Indie on that)

       That man’s last book sold 3,000 copies. There is nothing wrong with that, and I’m not very competitive by nature, but the human in me wants to whup him on that. Kathy Boyd and Phoenix Rising of Portland, Oregon reserved copy number 3,001. So, it’s 3001 or bust. The kid has faith, so we’ll see.       

        As I have mentioned I’ll be at the Red White and Bluegrass festival in Morganton N.C. July 1-4. After that, my agent has about four more stops lined up for me for the rest of 2010. As soon as dates firm up on that I’ll let you know.

        Starting in 2011, my wife plan about 6-8 outings a year. That’s about all I can do and still tend to my Doc gig. I still like the job and love my people. I’m not ready to give it up. Besides, if I retired I’d drive everyone crazy; way too much energy. I’m just an overgrown boy.

        Years ago one of my buddies on the bluegrass tour told me he made it all the way to California and back. He said they met great people, ate fine food, played a lot of music, and sold enough CDs to come home with ten more dollars than he started with. 

       He’s my hero and that is my goal. Some day we want to make it all the way to California and points in between so y’all watch for us. We love a great jam session and will pick for food. See ya out there.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “3,001 or Bust -Great Expectations”

  1. Felix Miller Says:

    Only 3,000 to go, Doc.

    I just ordered The Mandolin Case from Amazon, estimated delivery June 23rd. If I had my druthers, I would buy from an independent bookseller, but getting older has made me more impatient.

  2. Smitty Pres. of Neuse River Fan Club in Mississippi Says:

    Great news on the book….were you somewhere this weekend letting people know about the book or did I make this up? By the way,check out some facebook pics of a Memorial Day of the family, we did have Chocolate Cobbler. Momma fixed 50 pieces of chicken, five were left……….bluegrass band pic in their as well………..

    • drtombibey Says:

      Felix,

      Lord have mercy you are number one my friend. I didn’t even know the link was up yet.

      It’ll be a little while before we get in the book stores. My agent is in negotiations with some of them. Our initial market will be on-line and signings at festivals, but look for it in a book store near you soon.

      Hey, if you like the book, how ’bout writing up a review? Man I am so tickled you got the first one.

      Dr. B

      • Felix Miller Says:

        Doc, looking on Amazon your already have a review, five stars, by a lady in Chapel Hill. Brief, but very good.

        Felix, I feel sure this was a test reader of the draft; there were some fifty or so out there. Yours is the first official sold copy. (I don’t even have one myself yet!)

        Dr. B

    • drtombibey Says:

      Smitty,

      Very, very cool. Haven’t been to my adopted home state lately but hope to soon. I have a few festivals scheduled. I still plan on Reed’s being my first book store gig, and hope to come there before IBMA in the fall. Will check in with you soon.

      Dr. B

      • Reviewer Says:

        Felix,

        I was one of the test readers, and couldn’t wait to give Bibey his stars! You’re gonna love this book! Take it easy and enjoy the read…

  3. GrannyPam Says:

    Can I get number 3,002? Well, I will just take the first one I can get. I would like to wait till IBMA, you’ll be there won’t you?

  4. Levonne Says:

    I’ll support you all that I can Dr. B. Ready, Set, … The Camp Host Housewife

  5. drtombibey Says:

    Reviewer,

    Thanks so much. My agent sent out the draft to a cross section of people. They included country folks, bluegrass pickers, bloggers, docs, lawyers, university students, and writers. Most were from the U.S., but some were from abroad.

    I appreciate your input. Except for the one cat who didn’t like bluegrass music it was favorably received. I think he might have had some degree of Bill Monroe deficiency.

    Dr. B

  6. Sharon Says:

    Count me as one for your book, Dr B. I dare say all your blog pals will want to read this much awaited book of yours. Also, that fellow’s critique wasn’t exactly objective. You can’t please all the people all the time.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Sharon,

      When I was a little boy I’d read about Australia and always wanted to go there. The people seemed to be free spirits who knew how to work hard and play hard too.

      For a country boy from rural N.C. to get to Australia seemed to be just the imagination of a dreamer, but them again for a kid like that to write a book is also improbable, huh?

      You know, I felt sorry for that guy, not because he didn’t dig rural life, but because he seemed to trudge through life with not whit of enjoyment.

      I don’t think he’d make it in Australia. Someone might want to have some fun.

      Dr. B


  7. I’m in too, Dr. B, and will order soon!

  8. christicorbett Says:

    I actually laughed out loud when I saw the reason for the 3001. Love it!
    Christi
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

  9. drtombibey Says:

    christi,

    When they guy first said it I was somewhere in between stunned and having my feelings hurt, but then I laughed too. Gotta roll with the punches I guess.

    Dr. B


  10. As long as you go to the other coast as well, I’ll be a happy camper. And count me in for one of those first 3000 copies. The minute “The Mandolin Case” goes up on Amazon, I’ll be there with my debit-card and my heart thumping in my chest. Dr. B, I know that there’s no way I can be more excited than you about this, but I DO know that I’m darn excited, especially after reading about the process for the past year or so and seeing you achieve this great feat!

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      You’ve hung in there with old doc the whole way. I’m not sure I was a writer when I started. Once I told my editor I was a doctor, not a writer.

      She said, “No, you became a writer through being a doctor.” I took that as a high compliment.

      Me and the wife hope to see the whole country and some abroad too before its all over, so keep a watch for us.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

