Wall Street Bluegrass

        I know a fellow in Charlotte who is a financial guru, a flat wizard about money even in these hard times. I was always a doctor and a music guy, and to be honest he talks a lingo I am not very familiar with.

        But, he knows of my love of the music, and has even gotten interested enough through my writing to attend some events. That thrills me. I always hoped my efforts would bring in some new people.

        One day my friend was reading the “Wall Street Journal” (I am more inclined to “The New England Journal of Medicine” or “Bluegrass Unlimited”) and saw an article by Barry Mazor.

        He called. “Hey, Doc. Do you know any of these people?”

        I pulled up the link on my computer. “Know ‘em? Lord have mercy friend, that’s the Grascals. The kid on the right is my little buddy Kristin Scott Benson. She looks like the girl next door, but she’s a seasoned pro; a two-time IBMA banjo champ.”

          “Really?”

          “Yep. She’s married to my mando brother Wayne Benson. Man, he’s a mandolin genius. I’ve studied under him a couple of years now and I haven’t scratched the surface of what that cat knows. Pure genius.” 

        “Doc, you’re right. You bluegrass people are thick as thieves.”

        “Don’t spread it too far, but we think we might have descended from the horse traders.”

        He laughed. “So, are these Grascals pretty good?”

        “They got their start when Dolly Parton chose them as her back-up band a few years back.”

        “Well, I’ll be.”

        “Check ‘em out sometime.”

        “And where can I see them?”

       “Let me send you their links. The Grascals will be at Red White and Blue on July 2, 2010, and III Tyme Out will be there on the 4th.”

        “You’ll be there too?”

        “Wouldn’t miss it.”

       “Hm. I might just come.”

        “You won’t regret it. Make sure to get some of Harold’s homemade ice cream. Tell ‘em Dr. B sent you.”

        “Sounds good. Thanks for the tip.”

        Here they are:

        The Grascals: www.grascals.com

        Russell Moore and III Tyme Out:  www.iiirdtymeout.com

        By the way, here’s the quote Kristin sent after she read a draft of “The Mandolin Case.”

        “Dr. Bibey honors the truth and simplicity of rural southern life and traditional music.  Finally, an author resists the hackneyed stereotype to accurately portray the integrity of bluegrass music and the people that love it.”  -Kristin Scott Benson, member of Grascals, IBMA Banjo Player of Year 2008 and 2009  (And she wrote this before Wall Street ever discovered her)

        And here is the link to Barry Mazor’s article. Who said bluegrass people weren’t sophisticated? It ain’t just country doctors any more. Now it’s the “Wall Street Journal” for heaven’s sake. Y’all check it out.

        tp://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704250104575238161698471880.html

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Wall Street Bluegrass”

  1. Carmen Claypool Says:

    thanks for the heads up on this article, I’m going to pass it along, if you don’t mind! :)

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Carmen,

    Yep, pass it on. With the miracle of the Internet our bluegrass voices are gonna be heard more than ever.

    Dr. B

  3. danny fulks Says:

    Doc, do you agree Kristin’s tune Freedom Park could take some lyrics? Wayne’s mandolin breaks some riffs that call for romantic words. Call Harley Allen.


  4. I’m going to look into that article! Although I don’t think that I’ll ever be able to really believe any sort of Southern stereotype anymore. Not that I like doing that as a rule, but things rub off on you, and sometimes you just need to learn from the real people how wrong you are. Meeting you and reading your blog cleansed me of any prior notion I had of bluegrass or country music people. So thank you, because reading your words has always been and will continue to be, an ongoing inspiration for me.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      You are so right. I just got back from Connecticut and I couldn’t have treated with more Southern hospitality anywhere in the world.

      We can’t judge. One time I ran into a man who was supposed to be a bad guy, and it turned out I was wrong about him. His name was Martin Taylor.

      I think music is about how we are all the same and not about what differences we have. We’re all human; music and art can bring us together.

      Dr. B

  5. Levonne Says:

    Thanks for that link Dr. B.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

