Thy Burdens are Greater than Mine

        The life of a country doctor is different.  There’s not a whit of glamour in what I do.  When you don’t wear a tie because it can get stuck in the wrong place as you try to screen a 350 pound human being for colon cancer and worry the distraction might cause you to miss a case; well you might be a country doctor. After near three decades in that routine when some fool on television in a suit pontificates about his expertise in primary care health care delivery it amuses me. 

        But overall, I just don’t see I have any real burdens, at least compared to my people.  When you see someone who has measured the distance from their ear lobes to the ground and is concerned they are three millimeters whop-sided it makes you realize people have all kinds of troubles. Many of them can’t be fixed by pills.  My broad shoulders are a bit stooped these days from years of burdens, but I carry on. In my prayers that’s what I am told to do.

        I saw a lady like that the other day. I had to take a break for a minute and play my office guitar. The song was “Thy Burden are Greater than Mine.” Her burdens were greater than mine for sure.  All I could do was listen and hope it helped a little.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Thought of the Day, Writing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Thy Burdens are Greater than Mine”


  1. Ah, Dr. B… Always looking out for everyone else, always thankful for what you have. You’re a rare man. I can’t agree with you, though – you say you’re unburdened, but you share in the burdens of others, every day, day in and day out, and though you take pleasure in your job and it humbles you, it’s still very tough to deal with your patients pain and problems. You have burdens, but maybe you’re better at dealing with them.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Slightly,

    Overall I have been pretty fortunate. Sometimes I am moved am ask why. The answer seems to be I have stayed healthy so I can keep on as a doc. Over the years I’ve missed one day off for a kidney stone and a couple for eye surgery and that is about it.

    I ain’t bragging, ’cause I’ve just been lucky. I know it could all change tomorrow.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

