No Announcements Yet and a Good Cause

        No announcements yet, but the team is at work on the graphic art for the book cover.  It won’t be long.

        I guess you might wonder why an old doctor would be so driven to tell this story. I suppose the main reason is that I gave my word to Indie. A promise is a promise.

        A risk management man told me my radar for trouble detection and how to avoid it was as good as anyone he’d even known. I learned a lot of it from Indie, and felt obligated to pass it on.

         Don’t worry.  It ain’t the end. I’m not a horse headed for the barn, but one pawing at the starting gate. I am gonna continue my quest to help people as a doc, but part of me is gonna do it by writing.  The “Mandolin Case” is only the start. They can’t make me go away.

        I’m gonna help people with my music too. Tonight I’m playing to raise awareness for the Abuse Prevention Council.  I am sad to tell you that even in wonderful Harvey County we have these problems.  If don’t know if I can stop some of that with a song, but I’m sure gonna try.

        Tell you what. Wherever you live, look up the folks who support these ladies and give a couple bucks to the cause. They often live in desperate circumstances and need our help to escape to a better life; one of grace and dignity every human being deserves. 

        Tell ‘em some crazy mandolin picking country doctor sent you. If all us good folks stick together we might keep the bad guys at bay yet.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Characters, Mandolin Case, memorable gigs, The Monday Morning Post, Writing

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “No Announcements Yet and a Good Cause”

  1. Mrs. Chili Says:

    Doc, I got your email and of course I’d be happy to write something for your cover. Give me a week, though; grades are closing and I’m busy writing narrative assessments for my students, so I’m a little busy at the moment…

  2. drtombibey Says:

    No problem chili. You were one of my early supporters and I wanted you to have a say. (“Dance with who brung ya” as we say in the South)

    Also you are an English teacher and that will make Mama proud.

    I just need a soundbite sentence or two, but wait till you finish up with the kids; that’s your job.

    Dr. B


  3. The cover! The cover! Oh my goodness, that’s a BIG deal, Dr. B!

    In regards to your playing… Well, I think music is something that touches people’s hearts, and if it ain’t gonna stop the bad guys from beating, it might just get more people to help prevent them from doing it. I wholeheartedly support your cause.

    • drtombibey Says:

      slightly,

      Yep, there are going through a line edit now. They found a few commas missing and that sort of thing, but it shouldn’t be long.

      It’s all just a labor of love and doc is having fun. I really don’t care exactly how many copies it sells. I just hope it’ll be enough where they let me write another one. (I’ve already started on it)

      I have played a lot of music in my life. Every once in a while I’ve been able to say, “Y’all quit being so mean and listen to this song,” and have it change a few people.

      Dr. B

  4. Gail Bryant Says:

    Sure do enjoy your stories and comments…

    • drtombibey Says:

      Gail,

      Thanks so much. We are inching closer. They are doing a line edit now, just checking for typos commas, etc. I hope to have an announcement in a few weeks.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

