Not a Bad Day (Golf with the Hawg)

        I’ll be back with more on the Negotiator next post, but I had to tell you about today first. 

        The Negotiator called first thing in the morning to say he’d struck a fair deal for two parties; his specialty.

        I drew the Hawg in the choose-up; always a good sign.  We played Little League ball together.  Hawg was an athlete, I was a student.  I knew I’d better get good at books as soon as I saw his fast ball.  Thank goodness we were on the same team.  Hawg played AAA ball, I became a doc.  His brother (little hawg) played the PGA tour; Hawg is almost as good at golf as his brother. 

         I was a ‘C’ man today, and shot 79.  I hit one in out of the fairway and made an eagle.  The sun was in our eyes so none of us saw it go in, but it was in the hole when we got to the green.  We barely won the front but Hawg got warmed up and shot four under on the back, and we ran away with it. 

        It’s always good to have good friends.  If the Hawg shows up half drunk, chain smoking, and wobbly, and even if he’s gotta drag around some skinny old country doc who only plays on Wednesdays, still put your money on him; he’s a player.  I took a bunch of mad money home to Marfar and it made her happy.

       I went to the dentist and didn’t have any cavities, reviewed a CD from an artist friend I think a lot of, and came home and read some Mark Twain.       

        Not a bad day.

Explore posts in the same categories: golf stories, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Not a Bad Day (Golf with the Hawg)”

  1. Ponder Says:

    Not a bad day at all: out in the good weather, more money than you started with, plus an eagle on top of it all. When someone asked me recently how I was getting along, I replied “better than I deserve”. Believe I may have lifted that return from you…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

