Glory Hallelujah Gonna Lay my Burdens Down

          I turned in my last deep revision of ‘The Mandolin Case’ to my editor, Jenny Lynn.  This was the same night I was getting shed of a kidney stone.  “Glory glory Hallelujah, I’ve laid my burdens down.”

         I was humbled by the fact that Ms. Sharon, a young lady all the way over in Australia, understood ‘The Mandolin Case’ was more than just a book or a project, but like a kidney stone was something I had to get out of me.  Women are so intuitive.  She picked up on it right away.  It’s like the English Professor’s wife said, “when a man writes like that there is a reason.”

        I have been blessed all my life, but I have seen a lot of wrong.  Somehow I’ve avoided trouble all these years.  There were rough spots along the way, though.  To me medicine is all about praying you can help a few sick folks.  I am sad to report to you to some it is about power and money and greed, and the story is not always pretty. 

        ‘The Mandolin Case’ is about some Docs I knew who did their best to live right.  It wasn’t easy.  They became involved in a very ugly and complicated human confrontation.  The docs were able to reach the far shore and lay their burdens down.   They were able to do so and not compromise their dignity or integrity.  They were careful to protect the privacy of people involved, even the guilty ones who did not deserve that discretion or earn the privilege to be treated with respect.  I have to give Indie most of the credit for how they pulled it off.

        The night I finished my revision, as I struggled to pass this stone, I had peace.  I knew I was gonna get my job done.  I laid my burdens down.  Illness always reminds us we are mortal.  I told my family, my agent, and my editor if anything were to happen to me press on and get it out there, because it has to be told.

        “The Mandolin Case’ is more than a book.  It is a saga about how to face adversity, learn from it, and come out better on the other side.  And in ‘The Mandolin Case,’ except for the few who were wicked beyond human hope, everyone involved came out with a deeper understanding of what it means to be human.  I still pray for the ones who didn’t get it, but I ain’t the Judge.

         We meet with a publisher in late September.  I hope they take it on because it will see a wider audience for their efforts.  But if they don’t I have no fear.  I’ll self publish and “have mandolin will travel” will see you out there in 2010.  My story has to be told.  My dream is that humans will put aside their differences and always seek the truth.  I hope my book and my music will be a small part of that.  I’m not a Pollyanna.  I know it isn’t gonna happen in my lifetime, but it ain’t gonna stop me from trying.  After all, a man has to have his dreams, and mine is that in eternity I’ll get some small little corner where I can lay my burdens down forever.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: book preview, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Glory Hallelujah Gonna Lay my Burdens Down”

  1. junebugger Says:

    You’re editor lives in Australia? I’m guessing you’ve never met her in person then? If my dream comes true I’d probably have an editor in the states. But that’s not as far as Autsralia. Whew!

    How long have you been working on your manuscript for?

    • drtombibey Says:

      junebugger,

      Oh I confused you. I’m sorry. Ms Sharon is a fellow writer who lives in Australia. I read her blog on a regular basis and learn a lot from her.

      My editor is here in the States. She is also very intuitive and understands me quite well.

      I began to write in 2000, and this story started to gel in 2002. I have worked hard on it for about three years now. It is 98% ready to go. I hope you will read it someday. You are one of my favorite young readers.

      P.S After reading your comment, I clarified the first paragraph. You’d make a good editor.

      Dr. B

  2. Kim Justesen Says:

    Dr. B -

    I wrote the first draft of my novel “My Brother the Dog” in 2002. I started sending it out in 2003. I collected many rejections in 2003 and undertook major revisions in 2004. In early 2005 I started sending out again. It sold in September of that year and was released in May of 2006.

    I began my novel “The Deepest Blue” in 2006, worked on it all through 2007, sold it in 2008, unsold it in 2009 (long story) and it’s being considered by an agent as we speak. Who knows what’s next.

    Kim J.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Kim,

      As you showed so well on your blog and with your comment, the writer life belongs to the persistent.

      Instead of getting discouraged we all need to dig in, dig deep, and try again.

      As we say in bluegrass; “try, try again is a great motto in everything except skydiving.”

      Dr. B


  3. Dr B
    An Aboriginal Elder said recently “All of us are one, because we are human. And if I cut you, you cut me, what comes out? Red blood, not different colour blood, only red blood. Yes.”
    The similarities out-weigh the differences and every one of us is born with the ability to empathise. How we use that ability is individual choice. I guess we both kept this innate ability.
    I’m so looking forward to reading your book.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Amen Sister Sharon. We are all human. May God bless you. As a writer you seek the truth, and that is what we should do with our art. We will all fall short of God, but we have to try and write the truth as best we can understand it.

      Dr. B

  4. emarrahcontessa Says:

    Thank you for directing me to this post. I would love to read your book and I am encouraged to know that you are using your gifts, especially writing, to lead others to the truth. I am a senior in college and will hopefully graduate with a degree in Mass Communication in March. I am confused what to do with the gifts God has given me and at the same time make a living in my chosen profession.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ms.contessa,

      Thanks so much for your visit. Hey, don’t worry; you are so young. When I was your age all I was interested in was guitars, girls, golf and pizza. It was only after I got married and got into the doc gig that I began to settle down and understand my purpose in life. I always say my wife half raised me.

      The Good Lord has a way of sorting things out for you over time if you humbly seek His guidance. From your writing I believe you will do just that.

      Dr. B

  5. danny fulks Says:

    A kidney stone gathers no moss. Good name for a band: The Kidneys Stoned. Great river in France: The River Stone.
    Famous novel from the 1040s: How Green Was My Kidney Stone. New delicacy from Starbucks: Cashew nut covered kidney scone. A guy walked down the street carrying a sign: HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN CAST THE FIRST KIDNEY STONE. Somone threw one at him. Doc, I got too much time on my hands. Won’t see the Grascals for two weeks. Do the Grascals ever tour in Caracus?

    • drtombibey Says:

      Dan,

      Too much man! I guess I’d be afraid to toss my rock at someone for fear another one might strike me down.

      I’m not sure where all they are booked, but the Grascals are gonna be popular anywhere they go. Entertainment to the max.

      Dr. B

  6. johnchap Says:

    Hi Dr B

    It is three months since I wrote a word in my own blog, and I decided today I must put that right; but first I took a look at yours – and find you are as prolific as ever, quite putting me to shame.

    My only excuse for my bloglessness is that I had a busy period in the summer, when in my alter ego as actor John Nicholas I managed to land a small part in Ridley Scott’s latest blockbuster movie – a re-make of ‘Robin Hood’ starring Russell Crowe and Cate Blanchett. It was shot on location near Guildford, where my daughter lives, and I played a medieval farmer. I had one scene where I was ploughing (sorry – plowing) behind a big Shire horse. Not bad at 77, eh? After that, we went on holiday – first to Switzerland, then to France.

    While in Switzerland I was reminded of one of my favorite books by your favorite author, Mark Twain – ‘A Tramp Abroad’. Do you know it? It’s a hilarious account of his travels, with a friend, in Europe. When in Switzerland they learn that a glacier is a moving river of ice; so they camp on the glacier – and are disappointed not to wake up way down the valley in the morning.

    I too had a kidney stone some years ago. I remember my doc saying it was reckoned to be one of the worst pains known to man – and I could believe him. So you and your ureter have all my sympathy!

    I do wish you well with your book. It’s now 18 months since I gave birth to mine – and it has proved a disappointing little runt. Still – I did it!

    PS The movie is not due for release until next May.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

