Never Laugh….Dreams Come True

        I cleaned up my office study the other day.  I do this every few years whether it needs it or not.  I ran across a small slip of paper that looked like a fortune cookie.  Someone gave it to me me years ago as a  note of encouragement.  It was from back when I first started on my book.

        The message read, “Never laugh at anyone’s dreams.”

        I smiled and recalled that day.  It was from a pal of mine who has a saying I love.  “A true friend is never jealous or envious.”  This buddy of mine is a very successful man.  All through all the ups and downs of life he has always encouraged me, and hoped I’d see the best life has to offer.  I’ve done the same with him.  If my book is well received he’ll be just as happy as it it’d been him, and if his business were to grow in this tough economy nothing would thrill me more.

        My wife and children have always supported my every dream and I have theirs too.  Over the years when I straighten up my study, I’ll find messages from my wife cheering me on, or scribbled notes from my children from the hard days when I started my medical practice.  “You can do it, Dad,’  from my boy.  Or “I love you, Daddy”  from my daughter, complete with a stick drawing of a little girl with glitter sparkles in her hair.  My dream was to live a life of grace and dignity and they made it possible.  They never laughed at my dreams, but did their best to help make them come true.  I hope I did as well by them.

        As I close in on publication of my book, I want to thank all you guys.  You never laughed at my dreams, and I love my readers for it.  I hope someday my wife and I will meet you at one of my book store gigs, and play you a song and share some stories.  You listened to my dreams, and as a writer it kept me going.  

        I want to hear your dreams too, and I hope you will share them with me.  After all, as my buddy says, “true friends are never jealous or envious,” and I pray you’ll see all your dreams come true too.  

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Advice- Five Cents, Philosophy, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Never Laugh….Dreams Come True”

  1. Baby Bibey Says:

    I love you, Daddy. ~Baby Bibey

  2. drtombibey Says:

    The best little girl….oh you know the saying, huh?

    Dad

  3. Kenny Says:

    You are Blessed with a fine family and so many friends Doc ! That says an awful lot about you !
    Best Wishes as always from one of those many friends,
    Kenny

    • drtombibey Says:

      Kenny,

      The main thing is I was smart enough to pick a fine wife and a bunch of good bluegrass friends. After that life was easy.

      Dr. B

  4. Karen Says:

    Love the quote, Dr. B. People’s dreams are so precious, so fragile that sometimes they are too frightened to speak them aloud. Then if when they do they are ridiculed, they fold up that dream and tuck it away in some dark place deep inside and scold themselves for being so foolish as to dream. I believe that many times our dreams are actually divinely inspired. We are supposed to have a dream in our hearts. A good dream takes us one step closer to becoming the people God designed us to be.

    I’ve had an idea for a short story floating around for a while about the power of dreams. You may have just inspired me to finally write it down. Happy writing, Dr. B. We’ll be celebrating right along with you when you get your book deal.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ms. Karen,

      I have seen mean people just crush the dreams of good but timid people at times. I always wonder how things would have turned out for those folks with just the least bit of encouragement.

      All the best to Sam. We will say our prayers and do all our worrying ahead of time.

      Dr. B

  5. waggledance Says:

    As always, Dr B, another thought provoking post. W.B. Yeats wrote my favourite poem (He wishes for the clothes of heaven) which ends with the line ‘Tread softly because you tread on my dreams’ – I wince at the memories of some of my own dreams being trampled on by others so I’m glad you have great family and friends around you. Of course your book will be well-recieved, there’s no doubt. Congratulations!

    • drtombibey Says:

      waggledance,

      Some of mine got trampled when I was younger, but over time I mananged to get over that and keep moving along. I feel like I am one of the lucky ones, and I have never taken that good fortune for granted.

      Dr. B


  6. Dr. B, your words and this post feel especially potent to me as I begin my newest journey – I start college next week and I’m nervous and excited and anxious. I feel like all my dreams are going to burst like bubbles once I see that I’m just one of many ambitious and dreamy young people. You’re right though – we should never laugh at anyone’s dreams, because dreams can come true.
    I love the notes your kids left you. I used to leave very similar ones in my daddy’s office every time I visited him there – I’d hide it so he’d find it on another day.

    • drtombibey Says:

      msslightly,

      You might be one of many, but you are the only msslightly, and the world needs more like you. If anyone tries to make fun of your dreams, you tell ‘em your e-Doc said they better be nice to you.

      If they aren’t tell them you are a writer. Get out a pen and piece of paper, and say you want to be make sure you spell their name right.

      Dr. B

  7. Lizzie Says:

    To write. I think for me my dream is to be heard. Insufferable or extraordinary, I just write. It was Ralph Waldo Emerson who said, “People do not deserve to have good writing, they are so pleased with bad.”

    • drtombibey Says:

      Lizzie,

      That is why I write too; just for the hope that someone will listen and part of me will go on after I’m gone.

      Thanks for your visit. I always enjoy hearing from other writers.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

