My Editor is a Genius

        Jenny Lynn has now outlined the first major edit of  ‘The Mandolin Case.’  I like this lady.  She took her time and asked a lot of questions.  We began to work on a few minor things while she got her thoughts together.  Now we are ready to dig in.  I have much work to do but she is convinced my draft will be ready for consideration in the meetings we have scheduled this fall.  After that, she plans one more start to finish tune-up, then it should be ready for 2010.

       Jenny is a genius.  She has been in and out of Harvey Country several times, and has been able to get some things done even Dr. Bibey could not do.

        What I’m getting ready to tell you is what we call ‘graveyard talk’ around here.  You will know things few outside of Harvey County know.  It is only fitting.  If you have read this far you deserve a leg up on the general public.  When you read ‘The Mandolin Case’ you will understand some things the naive reader will have to guess about.

        Somehow Jenny Lynn figured out how to get people to talk.  Maybe it was that fiddle.  I sent her some old tapes of Indie’s and she did some serious woodshedding.  Anything that reminds people of Indie tends to open them up a bit.  She negotiated at length with a major player in ‘The Mandolin Case,’ and has now secured his permission.  His name is Bones.

        Bones no longer lives in Harvey County but his heart is still here.  I knew him as kid.  He will not allow me to disclose his current location.  I was aware of his role in the case, but he would never agree to let me discuss it until Jenny talked him into it.  In a way I was willing to take the hit for him;  I thought his part of the story needed to be told.   After Jenny talked it over with him he decided that wouldn’t be fair and gave in.

       You may wonder about all this secrecy.  There are many reasons.  The most important is patient privacy.  It is imperative,  but there are are other reasons too.  With ‘The Mandolin Case’ I’m gonna take you deep into a world of money and power, a world few folks know about, and one the players would rather I not discuss.  I can promise you the money crowd would prefer I not talk.  Therefore the story either has to be encrypted or it can’t be told.

          As I have said before, there is a Lit Professor quote I love.  “For it to be good fiction, it need not necessarily have happened but it must be true.”  To that end, I have been careful not tell tell any facts, but still show the truth.

        After Jenny Lynn discussed it with Bones he was O.K. with it, but he still won’t let me give him up.   And I always keep my promises.    His whereabouts, his career plans, and his deepest secrets are safe with me.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: Book Characters, Mandolin Case, book preview, Writing

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “My Editor is a Genius”


  1. The more you tell us about the book, the more eager I am to read it. It sounds fascinating, Dr. B.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    slightly,

    It will go deep into some of the most secret aspects of American medicine. In other words, it explores everything you wanted to know, but the establishment wouldn’t tell you.

    Dr. B

  3. Billy Says:

    Your description reminds me of what my dad said one time: When you don’t understand why something is done — look for the financal interests involved.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Billy,

      An old Doc on the medical staff used to close out every meeting with the same statement. It didn’t matter what the problem was.

      He’d sit back and listen, and then conclude, “Gentlemen, I don’t know exactly what’s wrong here, but I think is has something to do with money.”

      I never knew him to be wrong.

      Dr. B

  4. PiedType Says:

    Sounds like something the public should be reading right now. Too many are unaware of how deeply Big Money’s influence affects their health care. Write on, Dr. B, write on.

    • drtombibey Says:

      PiedType,

      I work on this last revision every day. I will do my best to show the truth as I see it.

      Dr. B

  5. junebugger Says:

    Oh! It’s so interesting to read about writers and their progress to publication.

    I also try to write about the truth without making it seem like a fact. Subtility is the key!

    Anyway, I hope you’ll allow me to interview you someday! When do you plan to publish your work?

    • drtombibey Says:

      junebugger,

      We have some meetings in late Sept with publishers. I am sure I’ll be finished with this edit by then. Because it won’t quite be finalized, they might not decide then, but the last revision should be finished in the fall.

      My promise to my readers has always been to release it in 2010, and I am confident we will make that goal.

      The thing I like about my editor is she is not afraid to offer suggestions as to how a passage might work better, but also listens to my perpective as to why I wrote it the way I did. She is insistent on one thing, though. “It’s your book, Doc. I make suggestions, but it has to be in your voice or it won’t ring true.”

      She 100% refuses to be a ghost writer. We saw this the same way right from the start. I always said I’d rather it be my book and sell three thousand copies than not be true and sell three million. With me being a first time novelist the process requires some patience on her part, but she is great.

      Once the book finally gets out there, my wife and I plan 4-6 weeks a year to see the country via book store gigs. I would be humbly honored to tell you anything about the process I could in an interview, and we’ll show you a few mandolin chords too if you like.

      Dr. B

      • junebugger Says:

        It would be lovely to interview you!

        It’s great that you’ve met and editor that suits you so well. There’s many writers, I’m sure, who stick with any agent due to the fact that it’s so difficult to get one in the first place. I’m glad to know that your editor can offer suggestions but at the same time listen to your side of the story.

        Oh, I just realized that she probably isn’t your agent. Do you mean she’s an editor at a publishing firm? If so–Holy smokes! You’re closer than I thought to getting published!!!!!

  6. drtombibey Says:

    junebugger,

    My agent helped me find my editor. She has worked with the publishers he is talking to. The project is under consideration. The whole process is very slow, but I belive if my editor likes the MS and the Publisher likes this revision, we are about there.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

