The Fiddling Pig Dances in the Streets

        The Darin and Brooke Aldridge Quintet played their Fiddling Pig Saturday night debut last night, and folks took to dancing in the streets.  They had been there for a Sunday Gospel singing a few weeks ago, so I guess the word got out.  It was standing room only.

        We didn’t make reservations, but we were there early and got lucky.  Ours was the the last table, and we took a seat in the back corner.  After we ordered, I went to find the band.

        “Boys, looks like you’ve already outgrown your venue.”

        Perry, the dobro man, smiled and said, “I think they’ve got a great menu too, Doc.  You tried those ribs?”

        Soon they had the room in their hands.  Be it clogging to ‘Old Joe Clark’ or the senior citizens slow dancing, they moved through a fast-paced set and kept the crowd involved.  When Darin and Brooke did the old duet ‘I’m Making Plans’ you could hear a pin drop.  (Well at least a rib bone; it was an enthusiastic crowd)  I like all their work but when they do those country duets the hair stands up on the back of my neck.  It is a new and fresh but comfortable old sound all at the same time.  If you like some of Emmy Lou’s old duet work or the Everly’s or the Delmores, you are gonna love this too.  It’s a style that never goes out of style.  I believe Nashville is ready for some more real country.

        Nashville agrees.  Darin and Brooke were just back from a visit with Tom T. and Dixie Hall.  I am about to bust a gut to tell you about these tunes, but I guess I’ll hold off for now as they are going to have some of these on their next CD, and I don’t want to ruin the surprise.

       A tour bus came up and unloaded.  They took up the South Forty, so we decided to give them our seats and go outside for a bit.  The music was piped out front. We sat on the park bench to listen. The crowd ate take-out BBQ sandwiches, danced in the parking lot, and all but overflowed onto Tunnel Road.  I like to see the young folks have a good time.  It makes me feel young myself.  Me and Marfar got up off the bench and danced a slow one.  The cool Asheville night breeze tousled my mop of gray hair.  There weren’t any mirrors out there, so I’ll take it we didn’t look too out of place with all the kids.  We’re as young at heart as any of ‘em.

        The Darin and Brooke Aldridge Quintet has arrived.  I’m gonna go full tilt and hang with ‘em as long as I can, but when I end up over at Harvey Nursing Home I hope they’ll come visit me some Sundays and play me a tune.  As long as they are singing my Marfar and I are perpetually young and dancing in the streets.

Dr. B

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs, Writing

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The Fiddling Pig Dances in the Streets”

  1. Ted Lehmann Says:

    Great news about a great emerging band. Can’t wait to see them at Coot Williams, IBMA, and ARt of Sound. Maybe I’ll run into you, too.

    • drtombibey Says:

      Ted,

      Momentum has taken over, and they find new friends and fans everywhere they go.

      Look for me at those venues. You know me; tall, gray-haired, straw hat and sunglasses, one green and one blue eye. Can’t miss me.

      Dr. B

  2. Beth M Says:

    Lovin this group and all the friends we meet everytime I see them! Marfar – love you & the laughter we shared:-)! Who’d have thought the ladies room could be so entertaining? Dr Tom – you are a lucky man! Will see you all very soon! Love the blog!

    • drtombibey Says:

      Beth M,

      Marfar says hey. I always knew y’all were laughing about me in the ladies room; I just couldn’t prove it till today!

      Y’all just have natural fun personalites; so much so that strangers would think you’d had too much to drink when you’d only been sipping ice tea.

      But I figure I’m the one who gets to laugh the most, ’cause I am the luckiest man on the planet. Marfar’s theme song is ‘When You’re Smiling’ and she does that lot huh?

      Hope you’ll visit again.

      Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

