Where to Find a Country Doc on a Sunday Night

        The short answer is in a country church.  If I am on call, I can’t leave Harvey County, but when I’m not I have started to stretch out a little.

        This past weekend I got a call from Darin Aldridge.  His dobro man had to be out of town, and he wondered if I’d play some mandolin for the Quintet for a Sunday night church service.  It didn’t take long for me to say yes.  I hoped I was up to it.  As you have read in some of my reviews they are top shelf.  Their recent CD got as fine a review as I have seen in ‘Bluegrass Unlimited’ in twenty-five years.  It made it all the way to number one on the rural roots bluegrass gospel charts a few weeks. 

         It was a little country church, and the folks put my fears to rest.  Some of the congregation had heard me play with Neuse River along the way, and they invited us to supper when we got there.  It was my kind of place.

         The Pastor got up with an acoustic/electric guitar and a boy played the electronic drums; the house rocked before we ever played a note.

         Darin is a world class picker and his wife Brooke is a powerful singer.  When she sings ‘I’ll Go With You’ it gives me goose bumps every time.  Eddie Biggerstaff and Chris Bryant were so solid on the bass and banjo it wasn’t hard to fall in with them.  Perry Woodie was out that night, but he is a fine dobro man, and perhaps the funniest story teller in bluegrass. 

        It was the first time I had been nervous for a gig in years.  Darin makes his living in music and I wanted to do my best to keep it to their standards.  Darin gave me a nice introduction, and then I proceeded to wreck the kick-off to ‘River of Jordan,’ but they were all good Christians and I was forgiven.  After that I got in the groove and thought I did O.K. considering I had not rehearsed with them.  I hope they enjoyed it as much as I did.

        So, if you want to find Tommy Bibey on a Sunday night in the N.C. Piedmont, look for the Darin and Brooke Aldridge Quintet at a church near you.  If I can go, I’ll get out and play a few gigs with them.  Neuse River plays most of our shows on Friday or Saturday, and 98% in Harvey County, so as long as it does not conflict with that schedule, and it isn’t too far outside the Piedmont area old Doc might just come along for the ride. 

        I hope your church will consider booking them for special music one night.  After this last CD, they are getting bigger bookings with every month that goes by, but they are still do the Sunday outings for a love offering.  The guys offered to compensate me, but for me this gig is about the fellowship, the experience, and a chance to get out and meet some new folks.  So, if you book them let me know and I’ll try to make it.

          If was far too spiritual not to go out with them again.

Dr. B

 

http://www.myspace.com/darinaldridgebrookejustice

Explore posts in the same categories: memorable gigs

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Where to Find a Country Doc on a Sunday Night”

  1. Candice Says:

    I never listened to bluegrass much until my husband brought home an Alison Krauss and Union Station CD. I loved it! Some of the spiritual songs on the CD were extremely moving.

  2. drtombibey Says:

    Candice,

    Isn’t Alison great? All her band mates are too. The best of the best they are.

    Dr. B


  3. Dr. B, that sounds like an incredible way to spend a Sunday night. I may not know much about Christianity, not really, but I do love the culture that seems to fill so many churches in the US of A. It’s a wonderful thing to be able to put your personal belief and your love of music together and to make people happy with it.

  4. drtombibey Says:

    ms slightly,

    The other love that comes into play is the food. I’ve played many a country church in my day, and those covered dish suppers are the best. Fried chicken, deviled eggs, potato salad, homemade pimento cheese and desserts, sweet tea- too much.

    I don’t know how my cholesterol is still so good. I guess the Lord is looking after me, ’cause I don’t eat right half the time.

    Dr. B

  5. Joy Renée Says:

    I am about 89% sure that my church would LOVE them!

  6. drtombibey Says:

    Ms Joy,

    Even when old Doc tags along they are great.

    Click on their myspace page and listen to ‘Wayfaring Stranger.’ It is a fine version of a classic tune.

    The title cut, ‘I’ll go With You’ is my favorite. I’d like that one sung at my funeral (I hope it is a ways off) if the kids are up to it emotionally. I guess it might be a little hard on them though. All us bluegrass musicians are pretty tight.

    Dr. B


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

